View Full Version : Handgun registration in Las Vegas/Clark County
Please forgive me to the extent I use the wrong terms to formulate my question. We all know that these terms vary from state to state and I'm not from Nevada. Also, please excuse me if my understandings re the laws of Nevada, Clark County and Las Vegas are not correct, the purpose of my post is to improve my understanding of these laws...
I believe it is correct that persons who live in Clark County (or perhaps just people who live in Las Vegas) must, in addition to obtaining a Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit, register each individual firearm they wish to carry with the Las Vegas Police Depart and obtain a Gun Registration Card for that firearm.
Assuming the above is correct, when holders of Nevada Concealed Firearms Permits who live outside of Clark County travel to Las Vegas, do they have to register any guns they carry with them on the trip with the Las Vegas P.D.?
What this is leading up to is the following... I have a Utah Concealed Firearms Permit. This permit is recognized by the State of Nevada. When I travel to Nevada, I usually fly in and out of McCarran in Las Vegas and often spend a good amount of time in Las Vegas. If I bring a couple of handguns on my trips to Nevada, am I required to register them with LVPD? If not required, is there a good reason to register them?
Thanks and, again, I applogize if I have misstated the law or used incorrect terms.
Residents of Clark County (except Boulder City) have to register "Weapons capable of being concealed" which is anything with a barrel shoter than 12". You don't have to register yours with Metro if you're just visiting. In fact, new residents have a 60 days to register the "concealables" they brought with them. BTW, whereabouts in Indiana are you? I lived in Floyd County (Right across the river from Louisville) for many of my formative years.
Thanks for the informative reply. I live in Central Indiana, Hendricks County.
PERMITS FIREARMS REGISTRATION
NRS 244.364 Limited authority to regulate firearms; restrictions concerning registration of certain firearms in county whose population is 400,000 or more.
Except as otherwise provided by specific statute, the Legislature reserves for itself such rights and powers as are necessary to regulate the transfer, sale, purchase, possession, ownership, transportation, registration and licensing of firearms and ammunition in Nevada, and no county may infringe upon those rights and powers. As used in this subsection, "firearm" means any weapon from which a projectile is discharged by means of an explosive, spring, gas, air or other force.
A board of county commissioners may proscribe by ordinance or regulation the unsafe discharge of firearms.
If a board of county commissioners in a county whose population is 400,000 or more has required by ordinance or regulation adopted before June 13, 1989, the registration of a firearm capable of being concealed, the board of county commissioners shall amend such an ordinance or regulation to require:
A period of at least 60 days of residency in the county before registration of such a firearm is required.
A period of at least 72 hours for the registration of a pistol by a resident of the county upon transfer of title to the pistol to the resident by purchase, gift or any other transfer.
Except as otherwise provided in subsection 1, as used in this section:
"Firearm" means any device designed to be used as a weapon from which a projectile may be expelled through the barrel by the force of any explosion or other form of combustion.
"Firearm capable of being concealed" includes all firearms having a barrel less than 12 inches in length.
"Pistol" means a firearm capable of being concealed that is intended to be aimed and fired with one hand.
(Added to NRS by 1989, 652; A 2007, 1289)
Registration can be accomplished at any Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Substation and at any other law enforcement agency within the incorporated cities of Clark County. (North Las Vegas, Henderson, Overton, and Mesquite).
Registration is quick, simple, and easy. To register simply bring your handgun (unloaded) to any police substation. You will receive a cursory background check and given a gun registration card. It's that simple; and there is no registration fee.
You should carry the gun registration card (not required) whenever you are in possession of the registered firearm. Please Note: The gun registration card is NOT a permit to carry a firearm concealed. Carrying a firearm concealed without a permit is unlawful and punishable as a felony.
You do not have to register your firearms if you do not reside in Clark County for 60 consecutive days.
In order not to reinvent the wheel, I'll just post a link to an offsite thread that has some additional practical information regarding Clark County's questionable ordinance.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.