NYC Premise Residence Permit Questions [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : NYC Premise Residence Permit Questions

tripl
04-04-2009, 22:15
Hi everyone,

I'm new to GT and have learned a lot from you people.

I have one of these NYC permits where I can own handguns but I cannot remove them from my home unless I'm going directly to and from a practice range. I belong to three area ranges and I also have access to a couple more ranges. I can take them directly there and back only.

Here's a question or two:

Assuming I also get an out of state CCW license like the Utah/Florida combo, then can I legally take handguns from NYC to these other states that honor these permits?

If so, I believe that I would have to transport them locked with ammo separate in the trunk or extreme rear of vehicle without a trunk. No problem.

But I may not be able to transport them at all unless there are ranges at the end of my destination. This would be a shame but I will follow the law.

Please help me understand these interstate rules for transporting to and from NYC. There is no way that I want to do anything unlawful due to ignorance. I am curious to know my rights as limited as they may be.

Thanks to all in advance.
T

GMT II
04-08-2009, 18:51
What you speak of isn't illegal but it is against the conditions of your permit. The NYC premises permit is administratively tied to the conditions on its face which say that its good only for the address listed. You can take it from that address to a range in the 5 boroughs. That's it. If NYPD finds out that you took the gun out of their jurisdiction you will lose your permit. Like I said, it isn't illegal as long as you are ok in your destination but in NYS licensing is discretionary.

There is a world of difference between illegal and unallowed administratively under the licensing regime. Do something illegal with a gun and you usually go to jail. Do something against the NYPD regs and you lose your license.