No post about spring Gobblers? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : No post about spring Gobblers?

havensal
04-23-2009, 10:05
Anyone else ready for Gobblers?

I can't wait. :supergrin:

I am taking a friends 15yo out for the first time this weekend for the early youth hunt.
I hope I don't let him down. I can't carry a gun, so my Canon may get some action.

I have been hunting turkey for 15 years, but was never "taught" how to hunt them. I just learned from trial and error.

I have never taken a monster, just average.

All my hunting has been in the higher elevations, with no fields available.

I have some different land to hunt this year. Shows good signs of birds.

Nothing gets the heart pounding like a gobble at first light on opening day. :cool:

paynter2
04-26-2009, 07:29
Last Thursday a friend shot a 24.5# gobbler. I don't have any pictures (yet) or info (beard length).

The friend is in a wheel chair. He shot a couple of bucks last year too. He hunts duck and geese and does a lot of fishing. He's an amazing guy.

Tax Lawyer
04-26-2009, 08:40
It's coming this Friday.....

havensal
04-26-2009, 11:59
What an awesome morning!

We went out Friday night to tuck the birds in, but didn't hear anything. I was going to go to a different place Saturday morning, but he wanted to try "his" spot out.

We get out before sun-up and wait for the gobbles to start. We got a big NOTHING for the day. Not a peep.