US Citizenship for CCW? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : US Citizenship for CCW?

Munich_Germany
05-18-2009, 10:34
Do I have to be a US citizen to apply for a CCW permit in Alabama?
I am a German Army Officer serving in Ft.Rucker, i live near Rucker but I do not have a US citizenship.

Fear Night
05-19-2009, 05:06
Yes, you have to be a legal US citizen. Here are the guidelines for my county:
* The applicant must be a legal citizen of the United States of America, a legal citizen of the State of Alabama, and have primary residence in Shelby County, Alabama.
* The applicant must have an Alabama Driverís License, Alabama Identification Card, or active military identification card.
* The applicant must be at least 21 years of age. At age 19, with the expressed permission of a parent or legal guardian, the Sheriff will consider issuance of a license.
* The applicant must be a responsible individual of good character, who routinely exercises good judgment.
* The applicant must never have been convicted of a criminal felony.
* The applicant must not have been convicted of a criminal misdemeanor within the past three years.
* The applicant must never have been convicted of domestic violence or assault against a spouse of family member.
* The applicant must never have been convicted of any drug charge.
* The applicant must not be a drug addict or a habitual drunkard.
* The pistol permit allows the qualified applicant to carry a pistol in a vehicle or concealed on or about their person within the State of Alabama for not more than one year from the date of issue.
* The applicant must always have the pistol permit in his/her possession when carrying a concealed firearm.
* A complete criminal history check will be conducted on the applicant prior to the issuance or renewal of the pistol permit.
* The applicant must pay a $20.00 pistol permit fee each year.
http://www.shelbyso.com/page.php?p=permits

hagar
05-19-2009, 07:05