Imagine My Surprise [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Imagine My Surprise

IndyGunFreak
05-18-2009, 15:34
Today I got a popup saying my computer was infected w/ a virus. It was very cleverly designed to look like a Norton Message (imagine my surprise considering I don't have Norton).... It said it needed to scan my computer, so I said sure...

This was the next window I got (an even bigger surprise, because I don't use Windows)..

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j263/IndyGunFreak/bullcrap.jpg

Viper16
05-18-2009, 15:53
What distro of linux is that? I am fairly new to linux and am using Ubuntu. :)

Those ad's fool my boss all the time.

g29andy
05-18-2009, 16:06
Ran into that recently, using Ubunto 9.04. Was a faked or hacked website. Did you have trouble closing the window?

MavsX
05-18-2009, 17:16
so IGF are you saying you got a virus in ubuntu ? or is this just malware ?

i love how it says in red "your private data is under attack!"

Good luck man!

IndyGunFreak
05-18-2009, 17:31
What distro of linux is that? I am fairly new to linux and am using Ubuntu. :)

Those ad's fool my boss all the time.

Its Ubuntu 9.04.. I just changed some of the toolbar icons to my liking.

I sure hope I don't have to format and reinstall ... ;)

IGF

IndyGunFreak
05-19-2009, 06:22
Ran into that recently, using Ubunto 9.04. Was a faked or hacked website. Did you have trouble closing the window?

Funny thing was, I was trying to download a Linux theme because someone was having trouble with it, and I was going to see if I could install it or figure out the problem...

and yes, It was difficult to close... Kept popping back up, if you hit cancel, it brought the download.exe back up, if you hit ok, it brought the download.exe up..

I finally just got irritated, took the snapshot, then force killed firefox.. problem solved. ( I did eventually get the theme downloaded though..lol)

IGF

Linux3
05-19-2009, 07:47
Xeyes, you got xeyes on your desktop!