STILL have Windoze update error! Argh!!! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : STILL have Windoze update error! Argh!!!


betyourlife
05-20-2009, 19:07
Even Microsoft can't seem to fix this! Their tech support for Vista escalates me from one person to another, each one more useless than the one before.

I was going to re-image this thing, but decided to give it another shot since I don't want to have to go through the hassle of reloading all my drivers for my peripherals.

I am using Vista Ultimate 64bit

Windows update gives me an error code 80070424 when I try to update manually. The only updates in my history that actually occur automatically are Windows Defender updates.

I copied the below text from a post in a tech forum, but it is my exact situation:

PROBLEM -

Hey every one! I need a little help with my Windows Update.

On the 25th of October, the update was fine and everything. Now, when I went to go update on the 31st it said the 25th was the LAST day it auto-update on! I went "WTF" so I decided to manually check for the updates but I did not expect a slap to my face with a smooching red error code: 80070424 (screenshot of the error).

I've tried many solutions but none seems to work; at this point my brain has literally crashed due to many fail attempts at trying to find a possible fix for my Windows Update. I supposed my moral is decreasing and entering into a pessimistic stage of my PC.

My OS is Windows Vista Premium 64 bit, and no all the programs I currently have were installed before the 25th but Comodo Internet Security (which I uninstalled to check if it was the culprit but it wasn't; oh I also checked Comodo Memory Firewall but it wasn't the problem either) was on the day that Update failed and gave error code 80070424.

Yes, I've also tried to do a system repair AND restore but none of them even worked strangely. :/ Made another user account to check if Windows Update works but it returned the same code error. Oh and could someone check my HiJackThis log and check my system "stuff?" Not sure why I'm getting that many files missing errors.*

Please assist me! Very much appreciate it, and yours truly

~Veloci

SOLUTIONS -

1) REGSVR32 %SYSTEMROOT%\SYSTEM32\WUAUENG.DLL - confirmation box succeeded but it did not fix my Windows Update problem.

2) I've checked to see if my BiTS was correctly configured and everything of the sort and they are correctly configured without my intervention - works but it did not fix my Windows Update problem.

3) The BiTs restore tool thing, the one that repairs if it's corrupted or something - it said it's not needed currently so I'm assuming my files for Windows Update/BiTs aren't damaged in any way.

4) regsvr32.exe wuaueng.dll - confirmation box succeeded but it did not fix my Windows Update problem.

5) Regsvr32 QMGR.DLL - I'm suspecting this is the cause of my Windows Update not working properly as it returns a confirmation box that it was loaded but the entry-point DllRegisterServer was not founded with "Make sure that "'QMGR.DLL'" is a valid DLL or OCX file and then try again."

6)

Click on Start -> Run
and paste the command below and enter
%SYSTEMROOT%\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE %SYSTEMROOT%\SYSTEM32\WUAUENG.DLL
This line use to reregistering WUAUENG.DLL in window.

You are done! Launch your windows update again, you should be able to perform update now. <-- this solution does not work at all, given me errors of a register binary for the REGSVR32.exe and no association part with WUAUENG.DLL.
7) windows update error 8E5E0442 - TechNet Forums - the second post by Ronnie Vernon MVP works but it does NOT solve my problem at all either.**

8) Ran 3 antivirus scans (at different times) on thorough mode and found nothing. Used Malwarebyte's, Spyware Terminator, Ad-Aware, and SUPERANtispyware, and found zip.***

That's ALL the solutions I have tried but it still gives me the same blasted error code; my last resort for this problem is a reformat which I do not want at all since I have yet to invest in an HD that isn't part of the PC (not sure of the correct terminology). Well if anyone needs screenshots of the problems I'm getting I'll gladly post them.

grokdesigns
05-20-2009, 20:25
Have you tried booting into safe mode and renaming the "C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution" folder? This will cause Windows Updates to regenerate the folder.

betyourlife
05-20-2009, 20:30
Have you tried booting into safe mode and renaming the "C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution" folder? This will cause Windows Updates to regenerate the folder.

Yes, I did it through the command prompt window. I also renamed my rootcat (or was it catroot?) folder as well. That was a week ago, and I did it several times, no luck.

betyourlife
05-20-2009, 20:34
Oh, I can't even start windows in safe mode. My logitech wireless keyboard function keys don't work unless I install the drivers, which I can't install on 64 bit Vista :upeyes:

JK-linux
05-20-2009, 20:37
Here's an article for fixing XP updates. Might be adapted for Vista, but who knows.

http://myitforum.com/cs2/blogs/rcrumbaker/archive/2008/09/10/windows-update-fails-after-xp-sp3-installed.aspx

grokdesigns
05-20-2009, 20:42
Have you tried all of these steps in order and at the same time?

Perform the following steps to reset the Windows Update component.
1. Stop the Background Intelligent Transfer Service and the Automatic Updates service. To do this, follow these steps:
a. Click Start/All Programs/Accessories. Right click 'Command Prompt' and select 'Run As Administrator'. Click 'Continue' on the UAC prompt.
b. At the command prompt, type the following commands, and then press ENTER after each command:
net stop wuauserv
net stop bits
2. Rename the "Catroot2" folder. To do this, follow these steps:
Type the following commands, and then press Enter after each command.
net stop cryptsvc
ren %systemroot%\System32\Catroot2 oldcatroot2
net start cryptsvc

3. Rename the "SoftwareDistribution" folder:
Type the following command, and then press Enter.
ren %systemroot%\SoftwareDistribution SoftwareDistribution.old
4. Register the files that are used by Windows Update and Microsoft Update. To do this, follow these steps:
a. At the command prompt, type the following commands, press ENTER after each command, and then click OK every time that you receive a verification message:

regsvr32 wuapi.dll
regsvr32 wuaueng.dll
regsvr32 wucltux.dll
regsvr32 wups2.dll
regsvr32 wups.dll
regsvr32 wuwebv.dll


5. Start the Background Intelligent Transfer Service, the Automatic Updates service, and the Event Log service. To do this, follow these steps:
a. At the command prompt, type the following commands, and then press ENTER after each command:

net start bits
net start wuauserv
net start Eventlog
exit
Reboot the computer and try Windows Update again.


I've used a program called Dial-a-Fix to rebuild Windows Update in XP, not sure if it works in Vista.

betyourlife
05-20-2009, 20:53
gokdesigns,

Yes, I have tried that and seemingly every other method I could find on the internet.

When I try to rename the catroot folder, it tells me that a duplicate file exists or the file doesn't exist.

When I try oldercatroot2 it tells me access is denied. If I go back to just oldcatroot2 it starts to tell me access is denied for that too, even though I am in admin mode.

NGWT
05-21-2009, 00:27
Here. Read this thread as it looks promising

http://forums.techarena.in/windows-update/243060.htm

betyourlife
05-24-2009, 20:48
Here. Read this thread as it looks promising

http://forums.techarena.in/windows-update/243060.htm

Thanks, but that was the very first thread I looked at when I first started trying to fix this problem.

I have googled this thing to death, and even Microsoft Tech Support is baffled. Not one of their fixes has worked. They just keep escalating me to more and more advanced support people.

KharToon
05-25-2009, 20:22
have you tried resetting the http proxy using netsh winhttp resetproxy via the command line? Give it a shot, it fixed my update errors. Open a command prompt and type: "netsh" hit enter
type: "winhttp" hit enter
type: "reset proxy" hit enter.

betyourlife
05-25-2009, 21:15
have you tried resetting the http proxy using netsh winhttp resetproxy via the command line? Give it a shot, it fixed my update errors. Open a command prompt and type: "netsh" hit enter
type: "winhttp" hit enter
type: "reset proxy" hit enter.

No I did not try that. I did a clean install of Vista Ultimate this morning and that cured the problem. I had 100 updates totalling 1gb waiting for me. :wow:

It was actually easier to just do that to begin with. I spent too much time on this error. In fact I was able to install not only Windows but also Linux in a fraction of the time I spent on this stupid error.

It was a good thing anyways, I think I am going to do a clean install every year from now on on all my computers. I would have been due for that on this machine with that policy anyways.

sdsnet
05-25-2009, 21:30
This isn't the answer to your problem but it would help to find or buy a cheap wired keyboard to use when troubleshooting.