Grease or Oil? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Grease or Oil?

steve4102
05-24-2009, 06:30
I'm new to the 1911 and handguns in general. What's the best way to keep my Para 14-45 running at it's best, oil, grease or both? Right now I field strip it, clean it then give it at light coat of Montana-X-Treme gun grease. Is this OK or should I be doing something else?

Thanks
Steve

Quack
05-24-2009, 06:35
i use oil until it's broken in.
afterwards i use grease on sliding parts and oil on pivots.

gconan
05-24-2009, 13:21
Just started using these Wilson Combat products and they seem to be good!

ULTIMA-LUBETM UNIVERSAL GREASE/OIL (http://www.brownells.com/aspx/ns/store/ProductDetail.aspx?p=16383&title=ULTIMA-LUBE?%20UNIVERSAL%20GREASE/OIL)

I also am trying there oil and their grease. Unfortunetly because of the ammo situation I am slowed down on comparisions.

Eyescream
05-24-2009, 14:05
I've heard enough glowing praise for Brian Eno's Slide Glide that I'm thinking of switching to it.

glocks rock
05-24-2009, 20:55
I use Mil com grease. It's water based and won't gum up in hot or cold conditions like some other grease. I put oil on barrel and on the link. Slide glide is good stuff but I don't like it on a carry gun.

deMontacute
05-24-2009, 21:07
I use Mil com grease. It's water based and won't gum up in hot or cold conditions like some other grease. I put oil on barrel and on the link. Slide glide is good stuff but I don't like it on a carry gun.
Mind explaining why?

RonS
05-25-2009, 10:29
+1 Wilson Ultima lube. I like the consistancy and I like the applicator which makes it easy to get as much or as little as I want.

MD357
05-25-2009, 10:33
Another slide glide fan here. I've used it in a 1911 that went through two 1500+ round classes for those worried about using it for carry. :supergrin:

Cobra64
05-25-2009, 12:39