My computer wants to download 350MB of Vista SP2 - yea or nay [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : My computer wants to download 350MB of Vista SP2 - yea or nay


Targettarget
05-27-2009, 16:56
Should I download this "Vista Service Pack 2"???

WTF is it?

For 350MB, it had better be pretty good.

zodiacbw
05-27-2009, 17:26
I've been using the beta/RC Vista SP2 for about a week now with no problems.

MS claims it frees up some memory from various places, increased performance, and some other stuff. Make sure your backups are current and go for it.

gh0st614
05-27-2009, 17:43
they will just harass you with pop ups until you update anyways.

harlenm
05-27-2009, 17:45
I just looked and I never installed SP1.

Dalton Wayne
05-27-2009, 17:50
Yes dowload it you never know what it will fix. :cool:
Regards
DW

jnojr
05-27-2009, 18:05
I've been using the beta/RC Vista SP2 for about a week now with no problems.

MS claims it frees up some memory from various places, increased performance, and some other stuff. Make sure your backups are current and go for it.

That's what they always say.

I'd skip it, wait a few weeks, se what happens to the poor suckers who go first. Like me... I can't stop that from being installed :( Unless I format my laptop and use XP, which I am strongly considering. Vista is a giant PITA.

Patrick Graham
05-27-2009, 18:09
I did it.

It works.

GreenDrake
05-27-2009, 18:17
I am at 48% of my download right now. Wait for a bit so you don't bogart my bandwidth, mmm kay?

JGrant
05-27-2009, 18:29
It's a much needed upgrade and it's free. Another plus is that Vista will recognize all 4GB of RAM if you have 4GB.

Targettarget
05-27-2009, 18:31
I am at 48% of my download right now. Wait for a bit so you don't bogart my bandwidth, mmm kay?

Mmmkay.

:rofl::wavey:

harlenm
05-27-2009, 18:42
I downloaded and installed SP1, but I don't have an option to install SP2.
Any ideas?

Altaris
05-27-2009, 18:45
Just downloaded my 567MB Vista 64bit SP2. Time to hit install and see what happens.

If you don't hear from me soon.....someone send me a new computer :supergrin:

Targettarget
05-27-2009, 18:49
If you don't hear from me soon.....someone send me a new computer :supergrin:

It's funny because it's true. :upeyes:

zodiacbw
05-27-2009, 19:18
I downloaded and installed SP1, but I don't have an option to install SP2.
Any ideas?

Try rebooting if you haven't already.


Correction: As of yesterday, you can download SP2 through TechNet

tantrix
05-27-2009, 19:50
Vista SP2 has been around for well over a month now, Microsoft just "took their time" putting it on Automatic Updates. I've been running SP2 x64 since it was leaked, and it's fine.

Nicky D
05-27-2009, 19:55
It's a much needed upgrade and it's free. Another plus is that Vista will recognize all 4GB of RAM if you have 4GB.


What do you mean? My Vista recognizes the 4GB's that are in my system. I am running 64bit. Are saying that a 32bit system will now show 4GB's?

itisbruno
07-05-2009, 15:32
I just got my uncle a laptop with vista basic and am following these instructions for sp2 installation:

Please follow the following steps below:

Try running the System File Checker, this will scan protected system files and replace incorrect versions, with the correct Microsoft versions of the files.

Step 1. Open an elevated command prompt. To do this, click Start, click All Programs, click Accessories, right-click Command Prompt.

Step 2. then click Run as administrator. If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a confirmation, type the password, or click Allow.

Step 3. Type the following command, and then press ENTER: sfc /scannow.
Step 4. Disconnect all the external devices from the computer that are not required for starting Windows.

Step 5. Download Standalone version of Windows Vista Service Pack 2 from the following link : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=656c9d4a-55ec-4972-a0d7-b1a6fedf51a7&displaylang=en

Step 6 . Install Standalone version of Windows Vista Service Pack 2 from safe mode option.

Please refer the links below:

System File Checker: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/933528

A description of the Safe Mode Boot options: support.microsoft.com/kb/315222
How to obtain latest service pack : support.microsoft.com/kb/935791

LongGoneDays
07-05-2009, 15:33
I don't even have SP1 yet. Too worried about the issues other people had. I guess they got that fixed now. *shrug*

Stonewall308
07-05-2009, 15:36
Vista sucks. I bought this computer when you could still get XP, and I really wish I had not opted for Vista.

LongGoneDays
07-05-2009, 15:37
You have to have sp1 before you can install sp2. I don't remember XP being like that.

G33
07-05-2009, 15:42
Waiting for thing/OS after Vista.
:supergrin:

LongGoneDays
07-05-2009, 15:48
Of course I downloaded sp2 first. sp1 is 435 mb o.O

LongGoneDays
07-05-2009, 17:17
Sorry to keep posting so many times in the same thread...

but SP1 is installed now. You know they said that XP computers would be able to run Vista, and that wasn't all that accurate. Even the new ones that came with XP that said "Vista compatible" weren't all that great with it.


I'm wondering if I go from 2GB of ram to 4GB will I be able to run Windows 7. It's a laptop, so it's the only thing I can upgrade :dunno: I'm going to upgrade to 3GB eventually anyway.

itisbruno
07-05-2009, 18:13
The toshiba I bought the uncle runs fine with vista home basic and SP2 after tweaking the OS/services.

grokdesigns
07-05-2009, 20:22
I'm wondering if I go from 2GB of ram to 4GB will I be able to run Windows 7. It's a laptop, so it's the only thing I can upgrade :dunno: I'm going to upgrade to 3GB eventually anyway.
Windows 7 will run great with 2GB, 3GB, or 4GB of RAM. It'll even run fine on 1GB.

Check this out:
http://www.geek.com/articles/chips/windows-7-runs-on-a-pentium-ii-with-96mb-ram-20090622/

Sgt. Schultz
07-05-2009, 21:30
they will just harass you with pop ups until you update anyways.You can block the service pack with a tool that is available from Microsoft ...
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=d7c9a07a-5267-4bd6-87d0-e2a72099edb7&displaylang=en

RDW
07-06-2009, 10:37
I downloaded SP2 when it first came out - No Problems.

USC Glocker
07-06-2009, 21:33
Windows 7 will run great with 2GB, 3GB, or 4GB of RAM. It'll even run fine on 1GB.

Check this out:
http://www.geek.com/articles/chips/windows-7-runs-on-a-pentium-ii-with-96mb-ram-20090622/


Agreed. I'm running Windows 7 x64 right now, I would never go back to Vista, and XP just seems like a forgotten nightmare. Win7 is awesome, makes better use of system resources than Vista did, and is generally amazing. The RC test version of the OS is stable as a rock, I've been using it as my primary machine for a little over a month with no issues.

Nicky D
07-07-2009, 04:03
I have 2 machines with Vista Ultimate 64, would you recommend upgrading to Windows 7? My machines are running fine, would there be any benefit?