Is my hard-drive dead? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Is my hard-drive dead?

ERASER
06-09-2009, 09:32
I have a hard-drive in my PC that I can no longer access. It is not my primary drive (it was, however, the hard-drive from my old computer). It is/was partitioned so that XP and other "necessary" programs were on what is now labeled the "E" drive, and all non-essential programs (games, photos, music, etc.) are on what is now labeled the "F" drive.
Well, it seems that I can no longer access either the E or the F drives. I get the message that "E:\ is not accessible. The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable."

If I look at the properties of those partitions, it only sees 0 used, 0 available and the file type is listed as "RAW".

It is connected using one of those red SATA cables. Is there a possibility that the cable is bad? Would hooking the drive up using a ribbon cable be possible? (Sorry, I'm not very good with computers).

Is the physical drive itself dead?
Is there a way to retreive the data?

Thanks, in advance, for your advice.

glock19_fan
06-09-2009, 10:20
Try different cable, place the drive in a USB drive and see if it works, or try a different PC and see if you can see the data.

Bemis
06-09-2009, 11:38
You can always recover a large percentage of data. Unfortunately those services can cost quite a bit of money. Nothing to worry about until you are absolutely sure you can't read that drive though. Hard drives are one of the few things that have moving parts...so it's bound to crap out at some point.

comsec
06-09-2009, 13:17
if the drive is still spinning, sounds like the partition crashed that is recoverable for most techs that have a clue about computers, it take about 8 hours to recover

ERASER
06-11-2009, 09:43
A quick update: