Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and......... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and.........


M2 Carbine
06-10-2009, 21:34
Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
I have a problem that's causing my web pages to intermittently shut down.

As aggravating as that problem is the pop up "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem........" box is even more aggravating.

It seems that years ago I found a way to stop that pop up box, but I can't find how to do it again.
Anyone know?

I'm using Win XP.

JMag
06-10-2009, 23:33
M2C, don't take this wrong, but IE is a problem. Actually, it's full of problems both real and potential. I can't help with the problem outside of advising you to look into a better, faster, and more secure alternative (Firefox, Opera, etc.).

Good luck.

MavsX
06-11-2009, 05:25
m2. can the webpage run with firefox? There are a few websites that only work with IE, in which case i will use IE for that particular page..but for everything else...it's firefox. With firefox gaining market share and acceptablilty...people are making their web pages firefox friendly.

check it out man. i was a big hater of firefox forwhile...now i would never go back to IE.

Good Luck!

Mak Maven
06-11-2009, 05:37
M2.....

Exactly what's been said so far.
I am happy with Firefox.
Only IE when certain web pages don't work well with FF.
Example Photobucket, web hosting site for photos, gifs etc.

JohnBT
06-11-2009, 05:58
"the pop up"

I'll ask our systems engineer and our man of many talents pc tech when they come in. Me, I don't know.

Don't you love the folks who think you've never heard of Firefox or some other browser and preach it like it's the word from the burning bush? :)

John

Sgt. Schultz
06-11-2009, 07:23
There are a few websites that only work with IE, in which case i will use IE for that particular page

Only IE when certain web pages don't work well with FF.

You two can stop using IE altogether by adding the IE Tabs extension for Firefox ...

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419

Sgt. Schultz
06-11-2009, 07:29
I have a problem that's causing my web pages to intermittently shut down.

As aggravating as that problem is the pop up "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem........" box is even more aggravating.

It seems that years ago I found a way to stop that pop up box, but I can't find how to do it again.
Anyone know?

I'm using Win XP.

To disable script debugging, start IE - On the Tools menu, select Internet Options - then the Advanced tab, under the Browsing section, click to select the Disable script debugging (Internet Explorer) check box and the Disable script debugging (Other) check box if it is present - Click OK, and then restart your computer.

MavsX
06-11-2009, 07:48
You two can stop using IE altogether by adding the IE Tabs extension for Firefox ...

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419


interesting. Never thought about that. Thanks sgt.

grokdesigns
06-11-2009, 08:13
You two can stop using IE altogether by adding the IE Tabs extension for Firefox ...

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419
This still uses the IE rendering engine, so any security risks present in IE are inherently present when using the IE Tab extension.

M2 Carbine
06-11-2009, 09:13
Thanks for the info and advice guys, I appreciate it.

Foxfire.
I tried it maybe three years ago. I don't remember exactly the troubles I had but there were a lot. It looked slick and I thought I was going to like it but it was a disaster. Possibly it would work fine for me now but I'd better stick with what's been doing, up to now, a good job.
Only IE when certain web pages don't work well with FF.
Example Photobucket, web hosting site for photos, gifs etc.
This would be a deal breaker. I'm big into Photobucket.

Can FF be installed along with IE, so that either one could be used, or is that a bad idea. I wouldn't mind trying FF again but not if it interferes with what I'm doing now.


Sgt. Schultz
You Da Man.
"Disable script debugging "
That's what I was hunting for.
Way back I found and disabled it but I couldn't remember how.
Sometimes when just moving within GT, like this morning, I'd get the warning and the page would shut down.
Thanks for the help.
I'll see if I still have a problem.

B.Mauser
06-11-2009, 09:29
I use Firefox exclusively and I also use photobucket on a daily basis and I have NEVER had a problem.

Saying you cant use photobucket with firefox is not true.


There is a big difference between firefox 3 years ago and today.

You really should try it again.

M2 Carbine
06-11-2009, 12:53
So far so good. I've only been on GT and Photobucket for about four hours but neither page has shut down on me once.:)

Before disabling script debugging this morning, both GT and Photoshop shut down twice in a few minutes.



Never being one to leave well enough alone, maybe I'll try Foxfire on one of my "backup" computers.





.

Sgt. Schultz
06-11-2009, 13:12
So far so good. I've only been on GT and Photobucket for about four hours but neither page has shut down on me once.:)

Before disabling script debugging this morning, both GT and Photoshop shut down twice in a few minutes.



Never being one to leave well enough alone, maybe I'll try Foxfire on one of my "backup" computers.





.You can install and use FF on your primary computer, it will not interfere with IE ... when you do try FF be sure to check out the addons especially noscript.

M2 Carbine
06-11-2009, 15:20
Ok:)....

Toyman
06-12-2009, 09:14
I recommend FireFox also, but chances are it is a add-on/extension in the browser that is causing the problem.

M2 Carbine
06-15-2009, 08:13
My problem is back.

Even with both script Debuging boxes checked I'm getting "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and........." again and IE shuts down.

I've been kicked off GT three times in twenty minutes this morning. FF is looking better.
Any suggestions where to get it?

I recommend FireFox also, but chances are it is a add-on/extension in the browser that is causing the problem.
I wondered about that also.
I run Norton and Skybot to see if they pick up anything but nothing.




.

solomansousana
06-15-2009, 08:41
Try loading IE without the activex add-ons. I found that my perfectly stable IE went bonkers after loading the coupon surfer activex utility to print coupons on my lasers. Once I removed that particular activex add-on, my ie went back to it's normally stable self.

M2 Carbine
06-15-2009, 09:08
Try loading IE without the activex add-ons.
What are activex add-ons and how do I get rid of them?
Even though I've been into computers for years I'm technically pretty ignorant.

I used IE for so many years without trouble, I figured that something recently had been added/installed that was screwing up IE but didn't know what or where to get rid of it.

B.Mauser
06-15-2009, 09:17
FF is looking better.
Any suggestions where to get it?


http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/products/download.html?product=firefox-3.0.11&os=win&lang=en-US


When installing Firefox it will even give you the option to import all your favorites from Internet Explorer to Firefox.

bchandler
06-17-2009, 14:49
1) Download Firefox
2) Install Firefox

There, your problem is fixed! No script debugging, etc.

I have not run into ANY webpages that don't work with firefox, and I use photobucket often.

quickcanary
06-17-2009, 18:06
I agree; if you're having that much trouble with IE, try Firefox! Its compatible with most any website now, and of course you can import your bookmarks/favorites from IE as well.

I have also used FF with Photobucket -- no problem.

I promise you can run both browsers without causing any ill effects.

grokdesigns
06-17-2009, 18:54
What version of IE are you using? Upgrade to the latest version (http://www.microsoft.com/ie), that should take care of any issues.

If you have version 7 or 8, try resetting IE by going to Tools->Internet Options->Advanced->Reset.

Goatglocker
06-17-2009, 18:59
I just switched to Firefox about three weeks ago and it solved my problems with activex add-ons. Like some of you I had used FF several years ago and it was a pain in the ass but this new version is a winner....

M2 Carbine
06-18-2009, 08:30
What are activex add-ons and how do I get rid of them?
I found out how to "Manage add-0ns", but so far haven't had any luck finding what's shutting down IE.

What version of IE are you using? Upgrade to the latest version, that should take care of any issues.
I'm using IE 6. Last night I installed 8 but couldn't do anything with it because every time I started it, it immediately shut down. So I went back to 6, which is still randomly shutting down.

I just switched to Firefox about three weeks ago and it solved my problems with activex add-ons. Like some of you I had used FF several years ago and it was a pain in the ass but this new version is a winner....
I am using FF and IE now. So far FF has been trouble free but it will take me a little while to get use to it and find everything.
I'll still try to find what is wrong with IE, I hate unresolved problems.:supergrin:


Again, thanks for the help everyone.:)

Glockdude1
06-23-2009, 11:20
I found out how to "Manage add-0ns", but so far haven't had any luck finding what's shutting down IE.


I'm using IE 6. Last night I installed 8 but couldn't do anything with it because every time I started it, it immediately shut down. So I went back to 6, which is still randomly shutting down.


I am using FF and IE now. So far FF has been trouble free but it will take me a little while to get use to it and find everything.
I'll still try to find what is wrong with IE, I hate unresolved problems.:supergrin:


Again, thanks for the help everyone.:)

I am glad I found this thread. I was having the EXACT same problem. I dumped the IE 8 and went back to the IE 6 my computer came with.

Does IE 7 do this also?

quickcanary
06-23-2009, 11:34
I don't recall having that problem with IE7, and even though I like IE6 because it's very lightweight I would recommend IE7 over it due to having tabbed browsing and improvements to security. Wait, did I actually just use the word security in the same sentence as IE? :wow: