VHS to DVD --software & hardware advice? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : VHS to DVD --software & hardware advice?

horge
06-28-2009, 22:46
What the thread title says.

I have too many VHS, video8 and miniDV recordings that need to be
transferred to DVD to save on storage space, and I have zero experience
in doing so. Well, almost. A friend suggested I try one of those small USB
and S-video/RCA jacked widgets (Chronos brand), but the resulting
DVD resolution was really coarse, with no apparent option to increase it.

Any suggestions on how to go about doing this would be appreciated,
preferrably without having to buy one of those $$$$$ Sony DVDirect
machines, lol.

Thanks,
h.

StayinTriggerHappy
06-28-2009, 23:41
if you don't want to buy a physical dvd/vhs combo recorder/converter, the easiest way (maybe the only other way) is to use your computer...just plug your vcr's output into your computer and get a software converter like one of these...

this one converts pretty much anything to anything and comes with all the wires you'd need...
http://www.roxio.com/enu/products/easy-vhs-to-dvd/standard/overview.html?gclid=CIP1xPvhrpsCFRAMDQodZRjqRg

horge
06-29-2009, 04:08
if you don't want to buy a physical dvd/vhs combo recorder/converter, the easiest way (maybe the only other way) is to use your computer...just plug your vcr's output into your computer and get a software converter like one of these...

this one converts pretty much anything to anything and comes with all the wires you'd need...
http://www.roxio.com/enu/products/easy-vhs-to-dvd/standard/overview.html?gclid=CIP1xPvhrpsCFRAMDQodZRjqRg

Hi, thanks for the suggesion!
Unfortunately that's seems like pretty much what I'd already tried,
(similar device, different brand-name) and I was disappointed with
how coarse the end-product's (DVD) video resolution was.

h.

MERCMADE
06-29-2009, 04:38
why not just pay someone to do it?

horge
06-29-2009, 04:41
why not just pay someone to do it?