Dell PSU upgrade [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Dell PSU upgrade


craig_o
07-08-2009, 13:06
redacted

IndyGunFreak
07-08-2009, 13:09
I'm not familiar w/ that model Dell...

Wasn't there an issue w/ some of the older model Dells, where they were using a proprietary connection for their power supplies? They weren't normal ATX connections, so you had to buy them from Dell...

Sounds like you have a newer model, so I doubt that is the case now days. I do however, remember reading about this. If you know you have a "normal" power supply, then the only suggestion I can make, is get the best Antec you can afford.

IGF

arcanetripwire
07-08-2009, 14:43
While Antec makes good solid PSU's, I would suggest going with a good modular Corsair. I suggest the Corsair HX520 or higher. That 520 will easily handle a 260, and it's modular which is an absolute requirement for me when I build a machine.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139001

StarvinMarvin
07-08-2009, 15:44
I'm assuming you are talking about getting an Nvidia GTX 260 ?, which is a great card by the way.

Yes, I would recommend more juice then your dell 375W PSU. As best I can tell from various sources that model Dell (XPS 410) does in fact use a standard ATX PSU. It also appears to be mostly tooless on the inside and would be easy to upgrade.

What arcanetripwire recommends is a solid PSU but you can get it at zipzoomfly and use ebillme and bring the price down a bit.CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=373100) after MIR and ebillme = $54.99

If you don't want to jump through all the hoops involved in rebates and ebillme consider this psu - Antec EA500 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371007) Its a sold PSU and has the requisite 2xPCIe 6 pin connectors you will need for a GTX260. (I personally have the 430 watt earthwatts in my rig)

IndyGunFreak
07-08-2009, 16:12
While Antec makes good solid PSU's, I would suggest going with a good modular Corsair. I suggest the Corsair HX520 or higher. That 520 will easily handle a 260, and it's modular which is an absolute requirement for me when I build a machine.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139001

Antec makes a modular... I've used a modular from Thermaltake before. They are very nice.

IGF

zodiacbw
07-08-2009, 17:05
Thermaltake, Antec, Corsair, all good PSUs, I use Enermax myself. As IndyGunFreak said be sure to double check that it isn't using a different pinout for the 24-pin connector, quick google search would probably answer that. Depending on the case, you might have to take a Dremel to the back to clear the vents or power connector. Just be sure you have good airflow, video cards get hot.

g29andy
07-08-2009, 17:51
Going through this now, 7 year old Dell P4 box died, think its the PS. I picked up a Thermaltake 350w to replace the OEM 250w from a local best buy, but the old mobo uses a 20 pin connector, so now I gotta wait until Newegg ships me an $1.99 adapter.

If a new PS doesn't fix it, I may try my hand at building a PC, eyeing some parts on Newegg that comes to around $580 with shipping.

g29andy
07-11-2009, 16:12
Well, it wasn't the PS, or RAM seating. Think the MOBO is dead.

Looks like I'll be wading into Vista land, at least the 64 bit version. Snagged a Dell refurbished box for cheaper than I can build.

g29andy
07-13-2009, 15:29
Well it wasn't the MOBO either. The video card had died, for some reason it wouldn't let the HD spin up to boot. After putting in a old crappy FX 5200 card, we're up and running. The broke 7600GS card (yeah, still in AGP land) has a couple of capacitors? split open. I think I'll keep the new PSU installed anyway.

Anyway, it was a good kick in the ass to get a new box. We'll see how a Core i7 and 64 bit Vista runs next week. Plan to set up the old box to dual boot XP and Jaunty like my laptops.