How can we improve training better for women? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How can we improve training better for women?

fiveofnine
07-30-2009, 23:48
How can we improve training for women?

I am a firearms instructor and about a third of my shooters are women. I am putting together a class for (predominately male) firearms instructors on teaching women. Some of it will focus on techniques, like grabbing the slide over the top rather than pinching it, and some will be on social factors like the advantages of all women classes.

I am very interested in getting feed back from women trainers and shooters, as well as anyone else with an insight into this.

Thanks!

PATRICE
09-26-2009, 09:24

sawgrass
09-26-2009, 10:04

Deployment Solu
10-04-2010, 04:02
Be gentle in manner & speech, but emphasize aggression in techniques and action for your female shooters. Go as slow as you have to. I teach a few women's only classes a year in both CCW and training.

Many women tend to be not aggressive or assertive enough. Self-defense is dynamic. Speed and aggression on the part of the shooter are imperative. Many of the women will find a new self confidence in being able to master the techniques and have the skills to defend themselves. Empowered is the word I hear alot!!

federali
10-10-2010, 05:38
One of the main impediments to effectively teaching women is occasional male instructor arrogance. That is, an instructor privately feels that women don't belong in law enforcement and manifests his view with a hard-as-nails demeanor, condescenion, impatience, etc.

Also, as the male and female brain is wired differently, in my opinion, it's a bit more difficult to instill a "kill-or-be-killed" mindset in women.