Make my PC run faster thread [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Make my PC run faster thread


MichiganJFrog
09-07-2009, 20:05
There has been a thread in GNG several times about making a PC run faster. Can someone link me to it, or maybe start a new one all over again. I've done it to mine, but now my dad wants me to do his and I can remember what I've done. The original thread had suggestions about different programs to use and settings.

Thanks,
MJF

itisbruno
09-07-2009, 20:06
Plug it into 220v, it will run twice as fast

:thumbsup:

Zatec
09-07-2009, 20:20
You never said what OS....

IF XP, check out this:
http://www.xptuneup.com/xptuneup_categoryview.htm (http://www.xptuneup.com/xptuneup_listview.htm)

zackwatt
09-07-2009, 20:21
Software wise, or hardware wise?

sputnik767
09-07-2009, 20:30
Overclock

DriBak
09-07-2009, 20:31
add RAM

IndyGunFreak
09-07-2009, 20:41
There has been a thread in GNG several times about making a PC run faster. Can someone link me to it, or maybe start a new one all over again. I've done it to mine, but now my dad wants me to do his and I can remember what I've done. The original thread had suggestions about different programs to use and settings.

Thanks,
MJF

I find most of the programs to "speed up" a PC, do just the opposite...

How much RAM does your Dad's PC have?

IGF

metro273
09-07-2009, 20:43
Buy a Mac!

Sgt. Schultz
09-07-2009, 20:51
We need more info ... what's the OS, amount of installed RAM, available HD space ... for starters.

gh0st614
09-07-2009, 21:02
Buy a Mac!

ahhhh there here already

gjk5
09-07-2009, 21:37
Buy a Mac!


but what if he's straight?

UTKEngineer
09-07-2009, 21:42
but what if he's straight?

Run linux?

metro273
09-07-2009, 21:43
ahhhh there here alreadyDamn straight!...:supergrin:

Big Al 24
09-07-2009, 22:08
Wipe the hard drive and reinstall the OS. Then install the appropriate drivers for you hardware. This is as fast as the PC will probably run without hardware upgrades or more in-depth tweaking.

kc8ykd
09-07-2009, 23:21
Paint the case yellow, add a NOS sticker and a gigantic wing?

eclipsetactical
09-07-2009, 23:26
pules being sent from the hard drive to the buffer. The speed is doubled or some whne uesd ina marine envioemnt. Results may vary.:tongueout:

python357
09-07-2009, 23:37
Quit downloading porn.
:tongueout:

bearshoegun
09-07-2009, 23:44
but what if he's straight?

Ha,ha. So true!

Nufrifin
09-08-2009, 00:14
1. Clean up. Delete everything you don't need.
2. Run antivirus and spybot s&d.
3. Using regedit, empty registry folders "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" and "HCLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run". Kill anything that wants to run from there with fire. These registry folders are empty on the healthy box. Not kidding. Everything you want to run on startup goes in "Startup" folder.
4. Allow vicious windows updater do its job once in a while.
5. Defragment.

Pierre!
09-08-2009, 00:25
The Best Way...

Usually costs right around $1000, but lasts for 2 years... then repeat!

HTH

PS - doesn't matter what OS you go for either, just changes the cost is all... them pretty Macs mean you need to go 50% more, Linux 50% less...

Nufrifin
09-08-2009, 01:43
Pierre, two years?

It's easy to load a computer with junk so it doesn't run at desired speed in one day.
Voluntarily, not even bringing out the adware.

Macs and linux, btw, have a great advantage here. I mean, after you compile your virus and download all the dependencies, you can have it, ok.

IndyGunFreak
09-08-2009, 04:32
Macs and linux, btw, have a great advantage here. I mean, after you compile your virus and download all the dependencies, you can have it, ok.

Why would you intentionally download and install a virus.. or am I mssing some sarcasm in there? :headscratch:

Still need more info about the machine, Formatting and restarting from scratch is a good idea, and so is upgrading to a Mac or Linux.. but that doesn't work if we don't really know what the OP does w/ his PC

IGF

Toyman
09-08-2009, 06:23
1. Clean up. Delete everything you don't need.
2. Run antivirus and spybot s&d.
3. Using regedit, empty registry folders "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" and "HCLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run". Kill anything that wants to run from there with fire. These registry folders are empty on the healthy box. Not kidding. Everything you want to run on startup goes in "Startup" folder.
4. Allow vicious windows updater do its job once in a while.
5. Defragment.

You really don't know what you are talking about. There's no difference between the Run registry key and the Startup folder in the way they actually work.

2nd, items in the registry may be needed for the users computer, for example printer utilities and video card utilities, touch pad utilities, etc. YOU may not need them, but the user might, and they might get pretty pissed that you said to delete them.

Pierre!
09-08-2009, 07:01
Pierre, two years?

FastER is every 2 years...

Very FAST is every year...

It's only $$$ after all...

(grin)

Sgt. Schultz
09-08-2009, 07:11
I agree with Big Al 24, a clean install with the latest hardware drivers will be all you can get out of your system without hardware upgrades ... be sure to backup all of your data first.

MichiganJFrog
09-08-2009, 10:32
Pops claims he has 64mb of RAM. I haven't checked, but I will. I already told him he probably needs more. It's a typical off the shelf Dell with XP Home. He has a 60 gb HD, but I don't know how much free.

IIRC, the previous thread had suggestions to install Foxit reader instead of something else, things like that, spyware and registry cleaning utilities, general performance improvements.

Thanks for the replies so far, even the funny ones :rofl:

Also, pops has Parkinson's and shakes like a leaf. Is there any hardware out there specifically designed for this?

Edit: I think I may have found it in the sticky. I originally posted this in GNG, and it got moved here. At any rate, if there's anything more not posted in the sticky, please post it, so I can help my pops.

havensal
09-08-2009, 12:07
Pops claims he has 64mb of RAM. I haven't checked, but I will. I already told him he probably needs more. It's a typical off the shelf Dell with XP Home. He has a 60 gb HD, but I don't know how much free...

64megs is not enough to run XP well, if at all. I recommend a gig.

Uninstall any software that isn't used or needed.

Realistically, I would just pony up the dough and get a new PC. That thing has to be pushing 5 years old or more. Wait for Win 7 to start shipping and get a new one. :wavey:

IndyGunFreak
09-08-2009, 15:36
64megs is not enough to run XP well, if at all. I recommend a gig.

Uninstall any software that isn't used or needed.

Realistically, I would just pony up the dough and get a new PC. That thing has to be pushing 5 years old or more. Wait for Win 7 to start shipping and get a new one. :wavey:

I agree, you need to either install more RAM, or buy a new PC. Installing some software to do it for you, is probably just gonna slow things down even more.

If you have the CDs to do a clean install, that would really be the way to go.

If you can't do that, Go through Add/Remove programs, and remove anything that is not regularly used. Remove any stupid toolbars, or anything that looks suspicious.

If he's using Norton or McAfee, uninstall them and install Avast.

Install Spybot or one of the other free spyware programs. Run it and clean everything up.

INSTALL MORE RAM. Ram for that system is probably gonna be fairly cheap. Find out what kind of ram it has, what the max is, and max it out.

Sgt. Schultz
09-08-2009, 17:10
You can use this scanner to "automatically analyzes your computer memory information and suggests an upgrade that's guaranteed compatible." You do not have to buy the memory from Crucial ...

http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/index.aspx

... Newegg is usually cheaper.

Drjones
09-08-2009, 17:55
Pops claims he has 64mb of RAM. I haven't checked, but I will. I already told him he probably needs more. It's a typical off the shelf Dell with XP Home. He has a 60 gb HD, but I don't know how much free.

IIRC, the previous thread had suggestions to install Foxit reader instead of something else, things like that, spyware and registry cleaning utilities, general performance improvements.




Depending how old it is, there's a very good chance it shipped with 256 or maybe 512MB of RAM. There's pretty much no chance it has less than that, as I doubt the system would even boot, let alone run XP.

Here's exactly what I would do to make it run better than it did when new:

- Check how much RAM that system can handle. Depending how much you want to spend, I'd max it out - 2GB is probably the max it would hold. At the very least, a 1GB stick should only run you a MAX of $40.

- Check the processor speed. If it's less than 1Ghz, I'd buy a new computer.

- Assuming the processor is over 1Ghz, I'd backup anything he wants to keep (music, pictures, documents, etc) and reformat the HD and reinstall XP.

By the time you download, install, and run whatever programs out there, you could have done all of the above. A clean install will absolutely run better and faster than the most magical "tuneup" program out there.


Good luck!

stolivar
09-08-2009, 18:30
I have seen many dells with XP that have only 64 meg install in them..

It takes almost 30 minutes to boot that way



steve

Furant
09-08-2009, 19:11
IIRC, the previous thread had suggestions to install Foxit reader instead of something else, things like that, spyware and registry cleaning utilities, general performance improvements.

Instead of Foxit, try Sumatra PDF viewer (http://blog.kowalczyk.info/software/sumatrapdf/index.html). That, and use many of the other freeware applications in this thread (http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=982357). These programs are typically small, don't require a ton of dependencies, don't require registry startup keys, and do what they do very well. IMO, much of what slows down computers are huge bloatware applications. Oh, and don't use Symantec anything and add RAM.

Joey

Nufrifin
09-08-2009, 21:20
You really don't know what you are talking about. There's no difference between the Run registry key and the Startup folder in the way they actually work.
All the malware and utility programs(most of which are for persistent annoying and consuming tray space) want to get runned from the registry key, especially the one loading for all users.
It is much easier to control Startup folder that that.

Oh, I forgot to add one.
"HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon" key has a "Shell" value. It should equal "Explorer.exe". Nothing else added.
Unless using litestep or something. But if one does, one should already know all and more about registry tweaks.

IndyGunFreak
09-08-2009, 21:40
- Check the processor speed. If it's less than 1Ghz, I'd buy a new computer.


Well, that depends... My youngest sister has a 1.3ghz Machine... I maxed the ram to 2gigs, Nuked Windows and installed Linux... which for her works fine.. It runs like new.

IGF

MichiganJFrog
09-08-2009, 22:26
Okay, went to dad's today. He has a 3.06 Pentium processor and 504 megs o' RAM. I deleted a WHOLE buncha crap that wasn't being used, ran pc decrapifyer, ccleaner, and a coupla other programs that I can't remember right off-the-bat.

Unbelievable change in the machine. His HD was about full (it is indeed a 60 gig), and I deleted about 17 gigs of junk he doesn't use (gotta love grand kids). He only uses his machine for e-mail and leisurely surfing. There were a bunch of programs to do with photo and video editing that either came with the PC, or the grand kids did it. At any rate, it's smoking like a champ now, so thanks for the help!

MJF

ETA: Removed LOTS of toolbars. LOTS. I hate yahoo.

Sgt. Schultz
09-08-2009, 22:26
All the malware and utility programs(most of which are for persistent annoying and consuming tray space) want to get runned from the registry key, especially the one loading for all users.
It is much easier to control Startup folder that that.

Oh, I forgot to add one.
"HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon" key has a "Shell" value. It should equal "Explorer.exe". Nothing else added.
Unless using litestep or something. But if one does, one should already know all and more about registry tweaks.



Looks like Toyman is on to something here, the OP is already experiencing problems with the computer and you come along and suggest that an inexperienced user edit the registry :wow:

Careless registry editing can create more problems than it solves, often leaving no option but to reformat and reinstall Windows. The registry is unforgiving, there is no undo option so once you make a change to it that change is permanent. Twice now you've suggested that the OP edit the registry and nowhere in your responses do you warn of the dangers or do you suggest he back up the registry first. What's next? Hmmm ... you'll probably suggest that he flash the BIOS.


The best and safest way for a beginner to control auto loading programs is through MSCONFIG or better yet ... http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb963902.aspx



.

Nufrifin
09-08-2009, 22:34
Sgt. Schultz, nice ulility, thank you.

Drjones
09-09-2009, 00:40
Well, that depends... My youngest sister has a 1.3ghz Machine... I maxed the ram to 2gigs, Nuked Windows and installed Linux... which for her works fine.. It runs like new.

IGF


Right, which is why I said if it's LESS than 1Ghz....1.3 > 1. ;)

:tongueout:

Drjones
09-09-2009, 00:41
Oh, and don't use Symantec anything and add RAM.

Joey


Really? Why? I've long been a big fan of Norton/Symantec antivirus as it seems to be far less intrusive and much better behaved than pretty much any other AV program I've come across.

Why don't you like their stuff?

Drjones
09-09-2009, 00:44
Okay, went to dad's today. He has a 3.06 Pentium processor and 504 megs o' RAM. I deleted a WHOLE buncha crap that wasn't being used, ran pc decrapifyer, ccleaner, and a coupla other programs that I can't remember right off-the-bat.

Unbelievable change in the machine. His HD was about full (it is indeed a 60 gig), and I deleted about 17 gigs of junk he doesn't use (gotta love grand kids). He only uses his machine for e-mail and leisurely surfing. There were a bunch of programs to do with photo and video editing that either came with the PC, or the grand kids did it. At any rate, it's smoking like a champ now, so thanks for the help!

MJF

ETA: Removed LOTS of toolbars. LOTS. I hate yahoo.


WOWEEE.......man would I love a 3.06 machine! I assume it's a P4? I think those things run great. My uncle has an older Dell with a 3.06 P4 in it and it is pretty screamin' fast.

If you want to make it blazing fast, add another 1GB of ram in there....

Sgt. Schultz
09-09-2009, 05:42
I agree with the others that you should max out the RAM, it will drastically improve the system performance and can be done cheap.

IndyGunFreak
09-09-2009, 11:43
Right, which is why I said if it's LESS than 1Ghz....1.3 > 1. ;)

:tongueout:

Ok.. I've also got Linux running on a laptop that is 733mhz, 512mb of Ram, 20gig hard drive, and 4x DVD drive. It doesn't have wireless, but I use the laptop for a specific purpose and it doesn't move, so I just ran ethernet cable to it.

;)

IGF

Sgt. Schultz
09-09-2009, 14:22
Really? Why? I've long been a big fan of Norton/Symantec antivirus as it seems to be far less intrusive and much better behaved than pretty much any other AV program I've come across. Why don't you like their stuff?


If I had to guess I'd say he's going by past experiences, I haven't used it since NIS 2007 because it was bloated and a resource hog, that is until last week. I've been testing the latest version of Norton Internet Security for a client and I have to say that it is a huge improvement over past versions.

NIS 2009 uses fewer resources and is faster overall with the vast majority of security tasks running in the background during idle time, entirely without user intervention. Also the scanning engine seems to performed faster than previous versions. Symantec has also done away with the LiveUpdate component and replaced it with a much more transparent update system. And while it was never an issue to me, the installation package has been streamlined and installs in mere minutes. So far I like it.



.

Big Al 24
09-10-2009, 00:48
If I had to guess I'd say he's going by past experiences, I haven't used it since NIS 2007 because it was bloated and a resource hog, that is until last week. I've been testing the latest version of Norton Internet Security for a client and I have to say that it is a huge improvement over past versions.

NIS 2009 uses fewer resources and is faster overall with the vast majority of security tasks running in the background during idle time, entirely without user intervention. Also the scanning engine seems to performed faster than previous versions. Symantec has also done away with the LiveUpdate component and replaced it with a much more transparent update system. And while it was never an issue to me, the installation package has been streamlined and installs in mere minutes. So far I like it.



.

Maybe it still is bloated crapola it's just that the hardware has been changed/upgraded since you last tested it? Maybe I'll have to try it out sometime soon.

Sgt. Schultz
09-10-2009, 07:29
Maybe it still is bloated crapola it's just that the hardware has been changed/upgraded since you last tested it? Maybe I'll have to try it out sometime soon.
First ... MichiganJFrog I never intended to hijack your thread ... sorry.

Yeah I thought of that as well so I loaded it on their oldest/slowest computer (1.3 GHz, 768 MB RAM) a couple of days ago and at the end of the day the user said it actually appeared to respond a little faster. Her primary programs are IE7, Office, Lotus Notes and their inventory management software with Notes and IE open all day. My client has had this evaluation disc for several months so we're going to call Symantec and get the 2010 version and start all over.



.

Furant
09-10-2009, 08:01
I was basing it on experience from the ca. 2007 timeframe. That's good to know that it's improved since then. I won't curse it in such a blanket manner next time.

But I do still have a big chip on my shoulder for the pains it has given me in the past. :-D