Help me choose a rifle [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Help me choose a rifle

mholl26
09-08-2009, 21:00
I am new to hunting but not to shooting. I am left handed and getting ready to purchase a hunting rifle. Right now I have three good options:

1. Tikka T3 Lite Stainless in .308 Left hand. No scope. $500

2. Sako L61R Finnbear 7mm Mag Right hand. Leupold vari III $875

3. Sako 75 7mm Mag Right hand. Leupold Vari x II $875

Which is the best for the action, durability, accuracy and value?

Thanks for any help.

minnshooter
09-09-2009, 05:57
I would look hard for a Savage in one of those calibers. Savage is an excellent value, has a great trigger and are extremely accurate. The price is good and you can spend more on glass or ammo.

But of those 3 my vote would be for the Tikka and look hard at Burris Optics.

MrMurphy
09-09-2009, 07:30
All 3 are good rifles. I would favor the Tikka. But I too would look at Savage's left-hand line.

Gary Brommeland
09-17-2009, 08:04
The first question I would have to ask before fully answering your question, is "what are you going to hunt"? The next would be "in what kind of terrain"?

Having asked that, of the rifles you listed I believe the Tikkas to be the best choice for the money and more than adequate for any application suited to a bolt action, so long as you pick an appropriate caliber and can shoot it well. In fact, I'll stick my neck out a bit and say that I believe the Tikkas to be the best hunting rifles available for the money. If you want to spend a little more on a fancier rifle, then go with either of the Sakos, but anything that you shoot with it won't be any deader......

As far as a caliber choice goes, here's where it gets a bit trickier - I'd have to know what you are hunting before offering an opinion....

sourdough44
09-17-2009, 12:36
Left handed 308 would be a good choice.

havensal
09-18-2009, 04:45
I'll put in my vote for Savage. :wavey:

Mine are all great rifles.