Florida gun laws for persons under 21? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Florida gun laws for persons under 21?

WhySoSeriousG19
11-03-2009, 07:05
Hi, is it legal for my 20yr old brother to carry a pistol in the glove box of his car in the state of Florida? I keep getting different answers on this. Any help would be appreciated.Thanx Damien

Palmguy
11-03-2009, 07:47
FS 790.22 (3) prohibits possession of a firearm by a minor (under age 18) except in certain circumstances.

FS 790.25 (3)(L) allows unlicensed glove box carry, with no age specification.

It is legal for a 20 year old to own a pistol in Florida, and based on the above two statute references I'm inclined to believe that your brother is legal to have a pistol in the glove box.

That said, I am not a lawyer; and I recommend you (and/or your brother) pick up Gutmacher's book...

WhySoSeriousG19
11-03-2009, 07:53
Palmguy, thank you I will look into the Gutmacher's book.Thanx

04SVT
11-03-2009, 08:47
In Florida you have to be 21 to purchase a handgun from a FFL dealer same age applies to hand gun ammo. If he aquired it from a private person then is it legal but you still can't buy ammo for it from a FFl till he is 21. So assuming he bought this from a private person as well as ammo he would be legal to carry it in his car.

noway
11-03-2009, 10:10
yes carry away; load or unloaded , just secure it.

damm it's nice in Florida ;)

Mr. Blandings
11-03-2009, 11:09
Directly from attorney Jon Gutmacher's website: (http://www.floridafirearmslaw.com/Carrying-Concealed-Firearm-Concealed-Weapon.html)