45ACP 230FMJ Hardball For Me [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 45ACP 230FMJ Hardball For Me

Iceman cHucK
11-07-2009, 18:38
I have been shooting the 45 for about 40 years, started in the ARMY with a 1911, since have had one or two of just about every make and model. I've studied the ballistics of all the jhp and +Pjhp and STILL come to the conclusion that 230fmj hardball is about as good as it gets! +P hollowpoints often have feed and recoil issues. I have found many of my 45s don't feed the +Ps well. The gel tests of expanded hollowpoints of all weights often show 10-12 inches of penetration. This MAY be ok if there are no other obstacles to overcome first. Ball will get thru most non hard barriers with enough to penetrate the vitals. Plus its round nose design gives it the best feed profile for a semiauto, and I currently carry a favorite pistol that only feeds hardball. Some argue that it will overpenetrate a human torso. I'd rather chance that with a round that is 100% reliable and will penetrate than have the latest marketing, untried, majic bullet that is expensive to test and hard to find. The 45 230fmj hardball may not have the highest One Shot stopping capability as some others, but if I must use lethal force I will shoot until the threat is stopped regardless of how many rounds it takes. Chuck Taylor has said in his articles that hardball has worked very well for him many times. U.S. Military use of 45hardball for over 70 years and many wars has shown it to be a very effective manstopper. Just my opinion based on a lifetime of experience!

NEOH212
11-07-2009, 19:11