Best 9mm SD Ammunition [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Best 9mm SD Ammunition

ntech
12-12-2009, 01:14
I recently purchased a G26. I am new to 9mm ammunition, and I have a few questions pertaining to selecting the best ammo for SD:

1. would like to know what is the most effective round that will ensure proper expansion for SD?

2. Which brand is most recommended?

3. Which grain count should I get?

4. Should I get the +P?

5. What does bonded mean?

sentinel208
12-12-2009, 03:14
I believe that bonded refers to the bullet core (lead) being permanently (bonded/attached) to the jacket which would prevent the lead core from separating from the jacket thereby enhancing penetration. As for my carry round, I went with the Federal HST 124gr +P.

IndyGunFreak
12-12-2009, 03:29
I recently purchased a G26. I am new to 9mm ammunition, and I have a few questions pertaining to selecting the best ammo for SD:

1. would like to know what is the most effective round that will ensure proper expansion for SD?

4. Should I get the +P?

The above poster explained bonded perfectly. Its real benefit is for penetration through barriers(auto glass, doors, etc.). There really is no "best"... There are some popular ones, and some not so popular, but honestly, thats not what you should be basing your choices on.

1st. Is the round you select easily available in your area, or are you gonna spend months on a waiting list? Or at the very least, is it regularly in stock at online retailers.

2nd. Is the round dependable and reasonably accurate in your gun. If I like(for example) the 147gr Gold Dot and say it performs best, but it constantly malfunctions in your gun or you can't hit the broad side of a barn with it, then its not the best for you, no matter what I say.