Olympic Arms AR's, Any Good ? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Olympic Arms AR's, Any Good ?

Glocker08
12-25-2009, 12:31
I'm new to AR's and not really familiar with all the different brands/builds. Does Olympic Arms make good AR's or are they garbage ?

NeverMore1701
12-25-2009, 12:32
Garbage.

Gallium
12-25-2009, 13:19
On a scale of 1-10, the LMT/colt mil spec stuff are up there in the high nines.
Bushmaster is about a 6-7
Oly is down in the 2-3 area.

Or so I heard. :)

'Drew

reaper8154
12-25-2009, 13:24
LOL, here we go again. Mine has been fine for over 1K rounds. I have heard horror stories about some of the older ones, but have never seen any issues first hand. Most of the poo talkers have read things on the internet and puke it up without any first hand experience. I will not say they will be as reliable as a Colt, LMT etc. but mine is very accurate and has been 100% (its been a safe queen for a few years now)

They also have a lifetime warranty. You might be better off with a Stag or Bushmaster, but don't let the trolls here scare you away if you really want an Oly. I would personally tell you to save a little money and get a 6920. The prices on those have been pretty good lately.

MedicOni
12-25-2009, 13:49
Never having shot one I don't know if my opinion is any good. But either way... All of my friends that have them say they seem to work ok, but I'd still probably save a little more for a stag.

Although if I could get my hands on a 10mm Oly AR, I'd buy one in a heartbeat

RMTactical
12-25-2009, 14:42
They are on the lower side, but don't worry. If someone gave you one for Christmas, you can upgrade it pretty easily.

Alaskapopo
12-25-2009, 15:13
I'm new to AR's and not really familiar with all the different brands/builds. Does Olympic Arms make good AR's or are they garbage ?

I had a very bad experience with one I bought from them a long time ago. The rifle was garbage and the customer service was criminal.
Pat

gsdrulz