What's The Best AR Bang For The Buck ? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : What's The Best AR Bang For The Buck ?

Glocker08
12-30-2009, 00:19
I'm new to AR's and I'm looking into possibly getting my first one. The thing is,I will be on a budget when I go to buy it. I'm only looking to spend around $700. Yeah, I know that's a tall order, as most new AR's go for around $1k at least.

Can anyone recommended a good,reliable AR that meets my criteria ? Thanks in advance.

pleaforwar
12-30-2009, 00:35
Depends on the usage really.

If you want a rifle that can be pounded in the dirt and run like a champ then I would recommend you save up a little more.

If you want a rifle for purely recreational or sporting purposes, then a Stag should meet your needs. Here is a link to one on Gunbroker near your price range. :thumbsup:
http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=151666815

HAIL CAESAR
12-30-2009, 02:35
Depends on the usage really.

Can't agree more. Op never said if he wanted a blaster, a varmint gun, or ?????

But again, the advise with going with a STAG Arms is spot on too.

OUSooner
12-30-2009, 05:01
You can get a brand new del ton for that. Might check out the Cmmg bargain bin too.

faawrenchbndr
12-30-2009, 05:24
oops,......misread the OP's question.

Would be very hard for me to recommend a sub-$700 AR.

CMMG bargain-bin?
DPMS?
Del-Ton?
Model 1 Sales?

I would highly suggest saving a few more $'s,
you can get very good quality for a bit more money.

I recently picked up a Colt Sporter Target with a Colt 6920 barrel assembley.
ALL Colt parts, unfired, for $850

jrs93accord
12-30-2009, 05:48
Del-Ton is probably your best bang for the buck these days. This is coming from a guy who has two dozen ARs that includes Colt, LMT, Noveske, BCM, Sabre Defence, CMMG, Del-Ton, DPMS, and a few others.

banger
12-30-2009, 06:30
If you pump up your price point those few dollars, the world of QUALITY opens up.