problem with ar [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : problem with ar


allen.m
01-05-2010, 12:33
I went shooting with a friend this weekend and we were shooting his ar and it would fire but failed to eject the spent case unless you remove the mag and thin it would remove that case. i am new to ar's and so is he what could be the problem? The gun is clean.

thoughts please

SilverBullet_83
01-05-2010, 13:03
what mags, ammo are being used. Is the gun lubed correctly. I am new to ARs as well but this stuff comes to my mind

faawrenchbndr
01-05-2010, 13:22
Was the round still in the chamber?
Or was it basically jammed on top of the top round in the mag?
Need more specific details if you can provide them.

KillStick
01-05-2010, 13:53
I have had some problems like this with wolf ammo....

allen.m
01-05-2010, 14:14
The brass was left in the chamber and the next round was trying to feed into it.the gun was lubed as suggested in the manual and i was using remington ammo.The mag was what came with the gun.


Was the round still in the chamber?
Or was it basically jammed on top of the top round in the mag?
Need more specific details if you can provide them.

cyrsequipment
01-05-2010, 14:15
Bad extractor...

allen.m
01-05-2010, 14:24
we were only loading 1 round into the magazine after we discovered the issue. after the shot, the spent brass would be left in the chamber and the slide would lock back. if you release the slide and pull the charging handle again, the brass ejects every time. let me know if i need to give more details. this ar has maybe 150 rounds through it total.

Bad extractor...

cj3410
01-05-2010, 14:34
I am certainly no expert but I would try either a new extractor or possibly an extractor upgrade kit from a place like bravo company. You could probably start out using the upgrade insert and spring first, then try using the o-ring as well if you continue to have problems. If the rifle is locking back with the empty mag it does not sound like a short stroke issue.

allen.m
01-05-2010, 14:40
additionally, using a snap cap, it works every time.

faawrenchbndr
01-05-2010, 15:00
Bad extractor...

Sounds like you nailed it,.........
The kit in the link below should fix your problem, and give you a few a spare parts.

http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/BCM-SOPMOD-Bolt-Upgrade-Rebuild-Kit-p/bcm%20bolt%20upgrade%20kit.htm