Scope a Flat-Top with a standard front sight. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Scope a Flat-Top with a standard front sight.

TnShooter83
01-06-2010, 19:22
After searching for awhile, I finallaly found an AR rifle with a Flat-top that will work with my budget. (I hope).

The problem is, that it has a standard AR front sight. Like the the ones used on the carry handle style. (Forgive me, I'm new to ARs and don't know the technical names of the parts)

How would I go about scoping this AR with that "huge" front sight in the way?
If I do find a way to get it pretty much above the sight, will the scope adjust enough down in elevation to even work with out having a zero of like 600+ yards?

Or will the front sight even been seen in the scope?
I know with MANY of my bolt actions the sight are not seen in the scope, and they are obstructing 1/4 of the front lens.

Thanks for any help.....
I just don't want to buy something only to have it NOT work the way I hope it will...

NeverMore1701
01-06-2010, 19:45
You shouldn't even notice it.

Alaskapopo
01-06-2010, 19:47
Nevermore is right. Zero like normal you will not notice the sight at 4x and above. At lower mags its is not an issue but you will see it.
Pat

mattyk6
01-06-2010, 20:15
You must be using a scope base that raises the scope a bit, because if I use normal rings mounted to the flattop, I can't see past the front sight using a Leupold 4x scope.

Alaskapopo
01-06-2010, 20:28
You must be using a scope base that raises the scope a bit, because if I use normal rings mounted to the flattop, I can't see past the front sight using a Leupold 4x scope.

You need to use a mount that places the scope at the same height the Irons would be. Such as Larue.
http://stores.homestead.com/Laruetactical/Detail.bok?no=157

Here is one of my guns with a fixed front sight.
http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g299/355sigfan/AR%20style%20rifles/DanielDefenseM4.jpg

Chuck TX
01-06-2010, 22:35