Ever tried to thread the barrel on an AR-15? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Ever tried to thread the barrel on an AR-15?


NRA_guy
01-11-2010, 21:07
Anybody ever tried to thread the barrel on an AR-15 using hand tools (no lathe)?

My Bushmaster carbine has the heavy barrel which, as I recall has a 3/4 inch OD.

Obviously, that would be hard to get down to 1/2"-28 thread.

I have seen this tool advertised that supposedly gets you started straight.

But you'd have to start with an OD close to 1/2 inch.

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=465127&utm_source=froogle&utm_medium=free&utm_campaign=649

ottomatic
01-11-2010, 22:55
While it is pretty amazing what SOME people can do with hand tools, I'm not sure that i would try it.

mvician
01-12-2010, 01:37
Send it to ADCO

NRA_guy
01-12-2010, 05:38
Send it to ADCO
Thanks. Looks like a good suggestion.

I have never shipped a gun or gun part. I kind of hate to let anything out of my sight. (I also hate to deal with idiots at FedEx and UPS and the USPS.)

But I may give it a try.

faawrenchbndr
01-12-2010, 05:41
You would only need to send the barrel or the upper.
No need to worry, insure it for what a replacement barrel would cost you.

Onmilo
01-12-2010, 10:59
Even that Midway USA guide is designed to work best when used in conjunction with a Lathe.
A threading die and guide just makes it easier than having to make several passes with a threading tool.

tebklr
01-12-2010, 20:24
I have seen this tool advertised that supposedly gets you started straight.



Lathe......and an experienced professional running it. It will save you the cost of a ruined barrel. True.