Ohio LEOs chime in (LEOSA question...yes another one) [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Ohio LEOs chime in (LEOSA question...yes another one)

sink156
01-12-2010, 10:47
I have to run up to Cincinnati tommorrow, my dad is having surgery at one of the Jewish hospitals. Is there anything I need to know before I get there, I don't want to be hung up wasting time and not get to see him before he goes down to the OR.

Thanks in advance.

MeefZah
01-12-2010, 13:42
Some of the larger hospitals have armed hospital police. Only one hospital I've been in employs metal detectors at the ER doors (other public entrances don't have them), and the few times I've gone in that ER I just discreetly tell the officer that I'm a cop and carrying, badge them, and they ignore the metal detector when it alerts.

Under LEOSA you can legally carry in an Ohio hospital but I doubt you will ever have to ID yourself, they most likely won't even know you are carrying.

p.d.
01-12-2010, 16:58
Good luck to your Dad. As to the other matter, the only place I've ever had a problem was the VA, and they made me put my pistol in a locker in their security office and I was in full uniform.

9L82
01-12-2010, 19:46
I have been to both Jewish Hospitals, you won't have an issue, just keep it concealed.

lawman800
01-13-2010, 00:31
I carry in all the hospitals here, on and off. Just never went to the State Metropolitan Hospital where they are unarmed due to the correctional nature of the place.

imaguy3
01-13-2010, 09:18
Good luck to your Dad. As to the other matter, the only place I've ever had a problem was the VA, and they made me put my pistol in a locker in their security office and I was in full uniform.

can they legally do that if you're in uniform and working? I went to visit a co-worker out here in the hospital while on duty, the hospital security guard tried to tell me he'd secure my weapon for me, I told him to piss off...

lawman800
01-13-2010, 09:25