Defensive ammo for G17 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Defensive ammo for G17

BIG BILL
01-14-2010, 13:07
Greetings All, I'm new at glock talk and new for Glock. I've recently purchased a new G17 and so far have just fired range fmj ammo. I would like to hear some opinions on what works best as a defensive round i.e. no malfunctions and good stopping power. Also as for keeping mags loaded for extended periods, has Glock put out any info concerning a detrimental effect on springs.

Bill

srt_dude
01-14-2010, 13:14
With today's bullet technology, just about any of the major manufacturer's 115 to 124 grain loads are acceptable. +P loads offer a better option but come with increases recoil. Hornady TAP, Remington Golden Sabre, Wincester Ranger, Speer Gold Dot and most Cor Bon loads are all proven performers. Black Hills, Fiocchi and other manufacturers all offer defensive loads also. The most important factor is to be able to put rounds on the threat with acceptable combat accuracy until it has stopped. My rule of thumb is I'll carry whatever is cheapest or hopefully, free.

das9mm26
01-14-2010, 14:22
Speer 124gr. +P Gold Dots in my 17 and 19.....No problems from day 1.....
On the range, I use an assortment....UMC/WWB/Federal (FMJ vs JHP)...
Would LOVE to shoot GDs exclusively....but my wallet gets a hole in it really fast that way.....!!:whistling:

05FLHT
01-14-2010, 15:18
What ever ammo you have used reliably and feel comfortable with in your weapon :wavey:. All bullets make holes, some bigger, some smaller. Some people use FMJ, others want fanged face kryptonite coated sub atomic warheads.

Whats best is subjective, and opens up one mother of a can o' worms around here. My choice is 124+P Gold Dots.

mastrbloata
01-14-2010, 17:59
In my 17 I use Speer Gold Dot 124gr.+P........Here's a link to a guy that does some very good informal bullet testing. I like them because they are bonded and feed well.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcwaMwB13Gg