Anybody ever put a TLR-1... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Anybody ever put a TLR-1...


Ersatz
01-21-2010, 15:50
I was bored and it occurred to me I could probably put my Glock's TLR-1 on the flat-top rail of my Stag...

It works well, and damn is that front sight visible.

Anyone try this or have an opinion on why a guy (without a quad-rail) shouldn't do it?

thunderbat
01-21-2010, 16:39
Why not? have used mine on the underside rail, simply easier to operate. You may want to toggle the light on/off quickly, seems top mount may make that a little tougher.

scottMO
01-21-2010, 16:51
Why not? have used mine on the underside rail, simply easier to operate. You may want to toggle the light on/off quickly, seems top mount may make that a little tougher.
+1, got one on the underside of one of my uppers. It's positioned so that it can be activated w/the offhand, that is on the foregrip. Butler Creek makes a flip up cover that fits it as well..

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff157/scocor83/Scott023.jpg

snoczp
01-21-2010, 19:14
If you look at the top of this tread
http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=497749&page=60

it appears USMC03 has a Surefire X300 or X400 on his AR.

Concept for the TLR-1 would be the same.

I tried my TLR-1 on my AR briefly, mounted in the same place, but went back to a different light long term as I wanted consistency of location from gun to gun, and my other AR with a light was mounted on the LH side. I also found myself accidently hitting the switch on my TLR-1 when mounted as USMC03 has his mounted, and feared giving location away at the wrong time if it ever came to a serious confrontation in darkness. Maybe a stiffer switch would have made accidental lighting a non-issue. Not sure how stuff the switch on the Surefire is.

If you have a VFG, maybe the underside rail would work.

I'm still working out long term light placement for myself.

zerotonothing
01-21-2010, 20:16
My AR (Spike's Tactical) is wearing a Sig Sauer STL-900 mounted on a GG&G offset light mount. Functions perfectly in use with my VFG. The bonus of the STL-900 is the laser and strobe function. I'm telling you; that damned strobe is very disorienting.

I'll take pictures tomorrow and show ya how it looks.

cphilip
01-21-2010, 20:46
I put a TLR-2 on the bottom front of my SOCOM 16

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r89/cphilip/IMG_1282.jpg

Andrewsky
01-21-2010, 21:15
I drilled into my M14 synthetic stock. Then I bolted a 3" rail to it and installed a TLR-1. It's an amazingly ergonomic set-up, and the TLR-1 is a superb light. I also have a matching Butler Creek flip-up lens cover to go with the TLR-1.:)

http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb30/Andrewsky89/004-4.jpg

http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb30/Andrewsky89/005-5.jpg

Norcal911
01-22-2010, 00:02
I've had reliability issues with my TLR1 on my duty pistol, I can't see it lasting too long on my rifle. I'm not a Streamlight hater, I've used many of their products for many years but this TLR1 is killing me, been back to Streamlight twice. Their customer service was very good but I can't have a duty light down for a week or two. I do use it for duty so it gets a beating, I was just hoping for more reliability. If I ever have money again, I'll probably buy the Surefire. My peers have had zero problems with the Surefires. I usually keep it simple on my rifles with a Larue or Vltor mount and a Surefire 6P or 9P. What you are describing should work, I just don't want you to break your light-Norcal911

jdm0506
01-22-2010, 11:20
I mounted mine for a while on the left side of my quad. Easy to activate both modes using my thumb. But I can see accidentally hitting the switch being a problem.