New to the auto club [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : New to the auto club

weiserthanu
01-24-2010, 01:17
Hi guys! I'm a newbie to the auto pistols. My only experience was with a Colt Trooper Mark5 357mag. Recently purchased my first Glock 20 and plan to carry for SD. Probably a stupid question to many of you more experienced people, but I'm wondering if it's safe to carry my 20 with a round chambered?

samurairabbi
01-24-2010, 01:51
Welcome to the Glock 10mm world. You will like it here.

You are safe to carry your Glock with a round chambered. One of the achievements of the original Glock design is that it is as safe to carry with one in the pipe as any modern revolver; by modern revolver, I mean one with a hammer interlock that prevents firing if dropped on the hammer. We hear of Glocks firing unintentionally, but when the incidents are surveyed, they usually are of a type that would discharge a revolver (ex: reholstering with finger on trigger.) Just use a holster or carry system that covers the trigger while the Glock is stowed.

weiserthanu
01-24-2010, 09:40
Thanks Samurai! I appreciate the quick response. Do you think I'd be safe using the Smart Carry?

samurairabbi
01-24-2010, 09:47
Thanks Samurai! I appreciate the quick response. Do you think I'd be safe using the Smart Carry?
I do not know the Smart Carry setup. Perhaps someone else can cover this one.

Glockaholic
01-24-2010, 13:17
:welcome: You are fine with a round chambered, just be sure the trigger is secure and protected while carrying.

glocknick
01-24-2010, 14:00
you made a good choice with the 20.i plan on getting one soon to compliment my 29. i have become a 10mm junkie since i bought my 29.

weiserthanu
01-24-2010, 14:03
Thanks BD! The Smart Carry holster is worn in front, inside the waistband, down low. I wonder if sitting presents a problem in terms of accidental trigger pull.

bac1023
01-24-2010, 15:21
:welcome:

Taterhead
01-25-2010, 22:14