About to buy a AR questions? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : About to buy a AR questions?

e popa
01-30-2010, 09:52
I dont know much about rifles ,Im just getting into them. I have always been a handgun guy. With that said I am about to purchase my first AR,I want to put a handgrip and a flashlight on my rifle. Can you put a rail on the stock foregrip or do you need to remove the stock foregrip and put on a differnt one to do this? Also how hard is it to change the stock? Sorry for all the noob questions but Im trying to learn.
TIA :wavey:

kgain673
01-30-2010, 10:09
Build one if you can, you will save money and you can make a sweet setup. But you don't get a warranty. If you are going to get an AR you need to decide what your purpose of use is, then we can go from there.

e popa
01-30-2010, 10:23
my purpose is ........just to have.

In case zombies ever come I will be ready.

RUSH2112
01-30-2010, 20:20
Can you put a rail on the stock foregrip or do you need to remove the stock foregrip and put on a differnt one to do this?

Yes they make rails for the M4 handguards. You need to remove the 2-piece handguard so you can bolt the rail onto it, then just put the handguard back on.

vafish
01-31-2010, 15:46
I dont know much about rifles ,Im just getting into them. I have always been a handgun guy. With that said I am about to purchase my first AR,I want to put a handgrip and a flashlight on my rifle. Can you put a rail on the stock foregrip or do you need to remove the stock foregrip and put on a differnt one to do this? Also how hard is it to change the stock? Sorry for all the noob questions but Im trying to learn.
TIA :wavey:

As already noted they do make rails to fit the stock hand guards. But you will get one rail on the top and one rail on the bottom. Not that best method for attaching a light and a vertical fore grip.