Cost of Les Baer Accuracy is Reliability [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Cost of Les Baer Accuracy is Reliability

Baron-von-Glock
01-31-2010, 07:57
I have some experience with Les Baer pistols over several years (probably 5-10K rounds through them), which have been fantastic in the accuracy department and very good in the reliability department. I have lots of great experience with Baer's AR-15s, but that's a different story.

Reliability in a pistol, for me, is the be-all-end-all. Accuracy is secondary but very, very important to me. I mention these to highlight my biases.

I own: Two Wilson's, one Springfield Pro, a Baer TRS, a Baer SRP, two Ed Browns and a RRA 1911 (as well as lots of other 1911s less relevant to this conversation). I have shot a few more of each of the brands above.

In my hands, the Baers are perhaps a shade more accurate than everything else I own with the possible exception on the Ed Browns. However, in addition to slightly annoying takedown because the barrel bushing is so darn tight, my 20 years of shooting leads me to believe that Baers are also the least reliable of the $2,000 handguns. That is, there is a trade-off of slightly lower reliability for slightly higher accuracy.

Does anyone else have the same or a contrary opinion? No need for specific examples here: you can have a perfectly reliable HiPoint for 50,000 rounds (really) and you're full-custom 1911 can jam on every mag (really, everyone who's had the good fortune of owning lots of guns knows it happens). You are welcome to provide examples, but they aren't necessary.

I'm more interested in your general impressions over many guns and a long time if you have them to share. Thanks. Baron.

HAMMERHEAD
01-31-2010, 08:13
I've had my Baer .38 Super for just over a year now. Like you say, uncanny accuracy.