Need help with my AR-15 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Need help with my AR-15

KT2002
02-02-2010, 18:56
I am new to the AR-15 world but I am in the military so I have shot my share of weapons. I have been wanting one for a while so it is time to build my own. I have searched through post on this site but there is so much information. I am looking to build a regular AR15 to shoot maybe a few times a year. I am still undecided on whether to add a handle or not. What are the perks other than the obvious? Is it better to get one with a handle or flat top for sights? Are there any good magazines to get more information? Thanks.

MattS67
02-02-2010, 19:36
Most people don't run carry handles anymore. IMO flat top w/flip up sights is the way go to. This leaves a lot more options down the road in terms of optics.

pinkstog
02-02-2010, 20:59
Get the flat top, you can always purchase a carry handle add-on later if you so choose to.

lawman800
02-03-2010, 00:43
Unless you plan on humping in the field and lugging your rifle by its handle, you will never use it in a non-military setting.

Flat top with backup iron sights and optics, you can buy a picatinny mounted handle if you really want to.

m814
02-06-2010, 15:44
Unless you plan on humping in the field and lugging your rifle by its handle, you will never use it in a non-military setting.

Flat top with backup iron sights and optics, you can buy a picatinny mounted handle if you really want to.

Flat top with BUIS is what most go with. I was in the military for 9 years, never once carried my m16 by the so called "carry handle".

LA_357SIG
02-09-2010, 22:06
I go with a detachable carry handle on my .22 AR15 mostly b/c it "looks" right. And I use the .22 for fundamentals and actual marksmanship training. I also like shooting iron sights and the flat top/buis profile looks wierd. (without an optic)