DMPS question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : DMPS question


Jeager106
02-04-2010, 22:34
I have a DPMS AR10, .308 16".
Runs fine, won't shoot straight.
Only accurate with 125/130 bullets.
I have run the gambut of suitable powders and bulets in 150 and 180 and get 3 inches at best at 100.
Sent back to DPMS. They said there is nothing wrong with the rifle as it shoots 130 grainers under an inch that spraying 150 and up is just quirky for that rifle and they won't replace the barrel.
The twist is 1:10, most .308 barrels run 1:12.
Where can I get a barrel installed, 1:12, say an 18 inch tube so I can keep all the handgaurd parts?
By they way. Since I've had mine I've been doing a lot of reading on DMPS and lots of shooters are having a host of problems with them.
Mostly accuracy issues but a lot are rifles that won't run. All sorts of jaming issues.
If I can't get a good barrel installed I'm going to take the whipping in cash and sell the thing.

faawrenchbndr
02-04-2010, 22:43
Installing a barrel is rather easy. Finding a barrel could be a bit harder.

vafish
02-05-2010, 07:40
A 1:10 barrel should stabilize the heavier bullets better than a 1:12 barrel.

I'd take a real close look at the barrel and it's installation first. Have a decent gun smith check or re-crown the barrel, square up the face of the upper receiver and torque the barrel on properly and see if that helps.

K. Foster
02-05-2010, 08:15
How about an Armalite barrel?
Thereís a fellow here named Alaskapopo that will probably be along shortly to tell you how great DPMS is.:rofl:

I would seriously consider selling it and getting something from a company that will stand behind their products. Itís obvious youíve worked with the rifle and arenít satisfied. DPMS should have put on a new barrel and won themselves a satisfied customer.

Wyoming
02-05-2010, 19:27
Tagged

Jeager106
02-05-2010, 19:54
I might just sell the p o s while I can, before they become completely worthless.

Range Rat
02-05-2010, 20:26
If accuracy is what you are after, why not use a bull barrel with 1:8 twist?

rem2429
02-05-2010, 22:58
Send it GA precision and tell them to make it a shooter. They will do better than 3 inches. Lots better.

txpitdog
02-06-2010, 11:32
Interesting. I have the DPMS AP4 in .308, and mine shoots Winchester 150gr PSP to 1-1.5" at 100....with the iron sights. I haven't put a red dot or other optics on it, but its capable of shooting better than I can.

humanguerrilla
02-12-2010, 02:13
Also, straight up using nato brass /7.62x51 surplus in a .308 chambered lr308 could cause big accuracy problems
http://dpmsinc.com/forum/posts.aspx?postID=2271

"While you can physically fire either 308 or 7.62 NATO from a 308, you
will see reduced accuracy from increased wear in the throat of the
rifling and a higher chance of erratic cycling, including a higher
chance of failures to extract. It is for this reason we recommend using
only commercial 308 in a 308 barrel.

DPMS does not recommend or warranty the use of 7.62x51 ammo in a .308 chamber.

A 7.62x51 chamber can handle both types of ammo. Determine your actual chambering by looking on the underside of your barrel forward of the gas block or front sight base."

Jeager106
02-13-2010, 22:42
I've never used mil-spec ammo in the DMPS, only commercial new sporting ammo or manufactured ammo using new Winchester breass.