polymer mainspring housing for Mil-Spec Springfield [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : polymer mainspring housing for Mil-Spec Springfield

seamaster
02-06-2010, 10:31
I'm new to 1911's and could use your advice. I have a new stainless Springfield Mil-Spec 1911 and I would like to change to a flat mainspring housing and if I can reduce a little weight using a polymer part I'd like that.

I found two polymer options at Midwayusa and that's a Colt made part and a Kimber. Has anyone used either of these?

In the listing photos the Kimber shows a mainspring cap pin and the colt shows an empy hole...does the kimber come with that part?

Also, the colt has vertical grooves and the kimber is checkered, should this be a consideration?

Any advice you can give me is appreciated.

Thanks,
Seamaster

Jim S.
02-06-2010, 10:43
You're the first person That I've seen WANT to put a polymer M.S. housing in his gun.
The weight of the steel housing is not enough to matter and the durability of the steel is worth the added ounce of weight.
I would magine that someone on this forum would have the polymer part that they took out of their gun after getting the steel part and would gladly send it to you.
As far as the internal parts coming with the new one, not sure about that but it is very easy to take it apart and use the original parts.
The lines or checkering are your choice to make. If the front strap is checkered or has lines I would try to match the rear also. If not then it doesn't matter.
The weight savings is next to nothing. I would go with stainless over the polymer.

myanof
02-06-2010, 11:13
I just installed a VZ Aluminum MSH on my Defender that I bought at Brownells. It is light and works great. The 20LPI was a bit aggressive, but after a little smoothing with a file it feels good.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4063/4288544328_62fac100eb.jpg

Brucev
02-06-2010, 12:14