down and left [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : down and left

sciolist
02-15-2010, 20:40
Yeah, I'm a noob. Got my G19 in October. Have about 2500 rounds through it, all shooting outdoors.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
<o:p></o:p>
I try to get out once a week. I use a 24"x36" vertical backboard with six 7" round targets, and a wood rail on top, where I put steel juice cans. That gives me something reactive to shoot from further back.<o:p></o:p>
So the normal m.o. is to shoot 150 or 200 rounds from 7, 10, 15, 20, 30, 40 and 50 yds. My groupings are about 1.5" at 7 yds, about 2.5" at 15 yds, 4.5" at 20 yds and 6" or so moving out to 30 yds. I can pop a juice can off the top rail about 2 in 5 shots at 40 yds, and was 2 in 5 today at 50 yds.<o:p></o:p>
My shots are pretty well centered in the target at 7 and 10 yds. As I start moving back though, they fall down and left. I know this is me, not the gun.<o:p></o:p>
The main thing controlling lateral position of the shots seems to be position of my index pad on the trigger. I generally center the pad on the trigger, with a little daylight on the outboard side of the frame. I generally need to put POA a little high to get into or above the bullseye beyond 15 yards.<o:p></o:p>
Does anyone have any general comments on this?<o:p></o:p>
I think the bore axis of the gun is pretty well centered on my strong arm. Also think my weak hand/strong hand relationship and stance are OK, considering level of experience.<o:p></o:p>
I'm really wondering about the down/left thing, though. Want to get the groupings consistently centered in the targets as they continue to get smaller.<o:p></o:p>
Thanks for any help. :-)<o:p></o:p>

NMGlocker
02-15-2010, 20:58
Low left is poor trigger control along with a little recoil anticipation/flinch.
Finger position on the trigger and grip have nothing to do with where a slow fire, single shot goes.

Gallium
02-16-2010, 06:01