Bushmaster ACR [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster ACR

dw_player
02-20-2010, 10:00
OK, so I'm thinking about my tax return and may invest in m first 'black' rifle. There are two options I'm now considering:
1. A good quality AR
2. The new Bushmaster ACR
Whatever I get would be my first real tactical rifle (I have a M&P15-22) and I only want to buy it once. Meaning I don't want to outgrow the rifle by buying something very cheap and upgrading it later.
Money IS an object though, don't get me wrong.
I've read a lot about BCM and am leaning towards them as an AR platform provider.
I received an email from OnPoint about the Bushmaster ACR becoming available this spring/summer and am interested based on what I read, but I'm a novice. I realize it's 1.5-2x the cash potentially, but would it be worth the investment?
Do any of you guys have any thoughts/experience with the ACR? Which would be better for range, training (which I intend to get) and maybe some competition (not sure about this one yet...).
Thanks in advance!

WarMachine
02-20-2010, 10:44
I don't have any comment on the ACR specifically, but you can build a damn fine railed BCM with, BUIS, a quality optic, Larue mount, sling, magazines, ammo, etc. for the price of a bare bones ACR.

My middy BCM has been wonderful, so perhaps I'm a little biased, as I thoroughly enjoyed piecing together and shooting my build.

Noveske is even offering free stripped lowers with an upper purchase, I believe.

I just don't think (too early to "know" I suppose) that the ACR will be worth investing in over a well thought out AR build with quality components, or even a SCAR which is already being fielded.

You say that money IS an object for you. In that case, I'd get a squared away AR and save the extra money to be put towards LOTS of trigger time so that the thing doesn't just sit in the safe. I would get an ACR if I had money to burn, but not for my first foray into black rifle territory.