Sight Picture Technique [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Sight Picture Technique

SlowIsSmoothIsFast
02-25-2010, 01:55
When I make the front sight clear in my vision, the target is usually much too blurry. I'm just starting to learn and get serious about proper technique. Will my eyes learn to adjust for a better sight picture? I used to shoot with one eye closed and focus on the target. Now I'm using both open and crystal clear front sight. What do you guys do?

Also, where do you guys put your shooting hand thumb on the Glock? I find I can't point it at the target or I'll be on the slide lock, so I just let it rest, sort of pointing up and out.

SlowIsSmoothIsFast
02-25-2010, 02:05
I also wanted to ask where your eyes are focused between shots. After a shot my focus goes back to the target, and then when the sights come back down close enough, I switch focus back to the front sight. By this time the trigger travel is taken up again and the sight picture jst needs to be fine tuned for the next shot. Is this good?

David Armstrong
02-25-2010, 11:44
IME: For precise target shooting the standard rule is clear front sight, fuzzy target. For up-close personal fighting, the reverse seems to work out better. Your eyes naturally want to focus on the threat, so the sights becomes less clear. As time and distance change the picture that works best also changes.

As for the thumb, I like to lock mine down, but different folks find different methods work best for them.. Some shoot thumbs pointing forward, some use a thumb up.

jlavely
02-25-2010, 12:33
My thumb stays on the glock. I like to think it helps with combat follow-up shots because you can point your thumbs back forward for a point and shoot technique. If you want visuals, go youtube Todd Jarret Pistol Shooting Techniques. There is a lot to learn from that man's youtube vids.

NDC187
02-27-2010, 01:50