GA gun law (car) [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : GA gun law (car)

rns-glock37
02-27-2010, 06:08
i'm a SC resident with a ccw license. i will be traveling through GA in a couple of weeks. my question is am i right to interpret that a person can have a loaded firearm in their vehicle? in SC a person can, with or with out, a cc permit have a loaded firearm in their vehicle as long as it's in the glove box, center console, etc. my understanding is that GA law as far a vehicle is concerned is very similar. thanks for any clarification

9mmVagabond
02-28-2010, 03:17
i'm a SC resident with a ccw license. i will be traveling through GA in a couple of weeks. my question is am i right to interpret that a person can have a loaded firearm in their vehicle? in SC a person can, with or with out, a cc permit have a loaded firearm in their vehicle as long as it's in the glove box, center console, etc. my understanding is that GA law as far a vehicle is concerned is very similar. thanks for any clarification

Georgia does not honor the South Carolina Permit.
I have checked a few sites concerning Georgia gun laws when you don't have a valid Georgia Firearms License.

O.C.G.A. 20.4.1. Firearms License:
The law does not permit, outside of a person's home, motor vehicle, or place of business, the concealed carrying of a pistol, revolver, or concealable firearm unless he/she has a valid pistol license issued under code section 16-11-129, and then the firearm must be in a holster, hipgrip or any other similar device; in which event the weapon may be concealed by a person's clothing, handbag, briefcase or other closed container.

Carrying on the person in a concealed manner other than as provided above is not permitted and constitutes the offense of carrying a concealed weapon.