advice on a good/cheap GPS unit [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : advice on a good/cheap GPS unit

Mad Man 666
03-03-2010, 00:27
I am planning on getting back into some Hiking/Camping this spring and am looking for a good GPS unit.

I found a Garmin e-Trex Venture HC for about $100 and was wondering if anyone had any experience with this unit or any others of its type.

here is pic of it and its specs. I have no experience with GPS units so im not sure what I should be looking for.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/store/assets/images/products/010-00632-00/en/cf-lg.jpg

Physical & Performance:

Unit dimensions, WxHxD: 2.2" x 4.2" x 1.2" (5.6 x 10.7 x 3.0 cm)
Display size, WxH: 1.3" x 1.7" (3.3 x 4.3 cm)
Display resolution, WxH: 176 x 220 pixels
Display type: 256 level color TFT
Weight: 5.5 oz (156 g) with batteries
Battery: 2 AA batteries (not included)
Battery life: 14 hours
Waterproof: yes (IPX7)
Floats: no
High-sensitivity receiver: yes
Interface: USB
RoHS version available: yes

Maps & Memory:

Basemap: yes
Preloaded street maps: no
Ability to add maps: yes
Built-in memory: 24 MB
Accepts data cards: no
Waypoints/favorites/locations: 500
Routes: 50
Track log: 10,000 points, 10 saved tracks

Features:

Automatic routing (turn by turn routing on roads): no
Electronic compass: no
Touchscreen: no
Barometric altimeter: no
Camera: no
Geocaching-friendly: yes
Custom maps compatible: no
Photo navigation (navigate to geotagged photos): no
Outdoor GPS games: yes
Hunt/fish calendar: yes
Sun and moon information: yes
Tide tables: no
Area calculation: yes
Custom POIs (ability to add additional points of interest): no
Unit-to-unit transfer (shares data wirelessly with similar units): no
Picture viewer: no
Garmin Connect™ compatible (online community where you analyze, categorize and share data): no

creaky
03-03-2010, 09:33
I use the Garmin 60csx. I had been using Magellan, but found the Garmin to be a superior product as far as durability.