Why resize the bulge? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Why resize the bulge?

10mm29
03-03-2010, 22:20
So I am new to glocks and reloading for them. I have been doing a lot of reading and most seem to recommend an aftermarket barrel for brass life do to the generous size of the glock chamber.

My question is why not leave the bulge in the brass at the head. Once it has expanded to fit the chamber it shouldn't expand anymore. I can see brass not lasting long if you are work hardening it every time you resize and shoot it again.

Does this just not work for some reason, trouble fitting rounds in the mag maybe?

ChaneyD
03-03-2010, 22:30
It doesn't work if someone else picks up this brass and reloads for another firearm. It usually only affects the .40S&W more than any other caliber.

Taterhead
03-03-2010, 23:01
I have wondered this myself because I load bolt action rifle too. Neck sizing is good for a bolt-action bottle neck case because it is fire-formed to the chamber. However, I full-length resize my Glock brass because 1) the bulge is asymmetrical and 2) I don't want feeding to be compromised. The bulge is created in the six o'clock position. If the case feeds in any position that is not oriented with the bulge at 6 o'clock, it seems like the case would be slightly tilted. Plus, it might be kind of tight.

I get plenty of rounds through my reloaded brass. The limit to brass life is that they tend to shrink below specs after a while.

why
03-05-2010, 16:19
I may be missing something here, but all the bulges I have seem are assymetrical with respect to the diameter of the base. The odds that this would feed into exactly the same position are very low, even in a bolt gun.

jbremount
03-05-2010, 17:19
So I am new to glocks and reloading for them. I have been doing a lot of reading and most seem to recommend an aftermarket barrel for brass life do to the generous size of the glock chamber.