Les Baer for $1100... Does something have to be wrong with it? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Les Baer for $1100... Does something have to be wrong with it?

TalkToTheGlock
03-04-2010, 20:52
I am recently looking into buying my first 1911. I was
going to purchase a Dan Wesson or Kimber for my first.

However, I was talking to one of my friends at college and her husband was looking to get rid of a few guns from his collection. So, I get in contact with her husband and he gives me the list of guns. He said he has a Les Baer custom .45ACP that he is looking to get rid of.

So, I immediately asked what price he is looking to get rid
of it for. I was expecting >$1500, however when he said $1100 I was in dismay.

I'm not a expert on 1911's but I do know from bac's posts that they fetch a pretty penny.

So my question is, should I look for anything abnormal when I check this gun out? And is this a steal of a deal for a Les Baer.

I don't know what size barrel or model, only that it is a Les Baer.

I will try and snap pics when I goto look at it next week and hopefully snatch it up.

Thanks.

texmex
03-04-2010, 21:38
I got one off Gunbroker for $1200. It is a Concept V. If the Baer hasn't been altered or abused, $1100 is a heck of a deal. Mine didn't come with the original box or magazine. If it is a one owner gun or you are reasonably sure of it's history, go for it. Times are hard right now and the guy may just need the money.

HAIL CAESAR
03-04-2010, 21:57
May not be a darn thing wrong with it. I have bought PII's for 1 grand before and bought LNIB ones for 1,100. I have horse traded into ones even cheaper.

Guy is probably hard on his luck. or don't really know what he has got and it's value.

And I would not wait until next week. Someone will get it before you do.

dewidmt
03-04-2010, 22:28