How do you mount extra ammo? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How do you mount extra ammo?

CTfam
03-09-2010, 11:51
Really I'm just thinking side saddle vs rounds on the stock.

I have no experience with side saddles at all. I'd imagine they are much faster due to the location. The only thing that scares me is binding up the action by screwing some junk to the receiver.

I have the power pack on my Spec Ops (5 rounds on the stock) and this seems to be a much safer option since it doesn't interfere with the action. However, it is probably slower and it is somewhat bulky.

What do you folks prefer and why? If you run a side saddle has it given you any problems?

If my power pack fell apart while firing no big deal, but if those side saddle screws loosened up in the receiver that could be the end of your gun functioning.

Puppy
03-09-2010, 12:08
I prefer speed feed stocks over all of the other options, I really like the way the shells are tucked out of the way & don't catch on stuff.

Glock212327
03-09-2010, 12:08
I have a 6 shell saddle on my 1100 and it works fine. I have a 5 shell holder on my winchester 1300 butt stock. Tac Star is brand of side saddle that i have and since 1100's have no action (pump) there will be no problem. In your case i know people that have a pump has to cut a little bit off to make it work without problems. I personally like the saddle holds the shells in tighter and quicker reloads. Hope this helps!!!!

B Coyote
03-09-2010, 12:15
Carrying ammo on the gun ruins the balance, handling, and makes the gun snag everything.

I prefer a bag kept with the gun. It holds far more ammo, and a few other important items, too.

bc

hogarth
03-09-2010, 16:42
I have a 590A1 w/18.5in barrel. I've got a sidesaddle with 6 extra 00 buck and then a butt sleeve with 5 slugs. No issues with either to this point.

Z71bill
03-10-2010, 15:35
This is what I use -

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r128/z71bill/gun%20pics/P1000179.jpg