Conversion Question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Conversion Question

Stepaway
03-12-2010, 14:01
Just bought a 23 and understand that I can convert it to 357 Sig by just changing the barrel. I've seen conflicting info on converting it to a 9mm - Lonewolf says yes, just drop in a 9mm barrel. Ultimately I want to stay with the .40 caliber but since I'm new to handguns I thought it might be easier to train in the beginning with 9mm - cheaper and less felt recoil.

The armorer I bought it from says no way. What is the "real" answer from The .40 S&W Club ?

telecster
03-12-2010, 14:34
I have seen that you can, but you would need to use G19 mags. I watched a Youtube video on conversions that was very good.

Angry Fist
03-12-2010, 14:39
For .357 SIG, I don't think you need to change mags... For 9mm you do.

mteagle1
03-13-2010, 09:21
Just bought a 23 and understand that I can convert it to 357 Sig by just changing the barrel. I've seen conflicting info on converting it to a 9mm - Lonewolf says yes, just drop in a 9mm barrel. Ultimately I want to stay with the .40 caliber but since I'm new to handguns I thought it might be easier to train in the beginning with 9mm - cheaper and less felt recoil.

The armorer I bought it from says no way. What is the "real" answer from The .40 S&W Club ?

The 357 SIG is only 9mm as far as the bullet is concerned, the back of the case is similar to a 40 S&W and are about twice as expensive as 9mm. If you buy a 9mm barrel designed to be used in a G23, then you will need 9mm magazines either G17 or G19. As part of the conversion you should replace the trigger housing and extractor.

Stepaway
03-13-2010, 16:04
Mteagle1, I assume the extractor needs to be replaced 'cause the casing must be slightly different. Keeping in mind that I don't know anything about handguns, help me understand why the trigger housing should be replaced. Is that an expensive task - in other words am I just better off buying a 9mm to train with?