Affordable quality knife [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Affordable quality knife

waynokarider01
03-17-2010, 19:40
That's right I am cheap. I have been carrying a SOG Flash 1 for 2-3 years everyday. Its been a good knife, but I am finding it to be a little light duty for the use I give it. I am thinking its time for an upgrade. Something tactical-ish. What I would like to see is a folder with a combo edge, preferably a tanto blade. The flash has been really good, but the pocket clip is too short. Several times each week, it comes unclipped and ends up either inside my pocket or falls to the floor. Also, I find too much flex between the blade and handle for heavy use. It measures about 5 3/4" long open, I wouldn't want to go any smaller, preferably bigger,definitely heavier, but not too big for my pocket or possibly on my belt. I was at a knife outlet over the weekend, and found a Buck that was pretty much what I wanted. It actually had the feel of a quality tool. That is what really got me wanting to upgrade. The problem was that that particular knife was made in China. I could buy one of them for less than $30, but I would rather find something US made. I was really fond of Columbia River years ago, but I bought one a while back at WM and was disappointed to see that it was made in China and the quality really wasn't like my older one. The trick is that I would like to only spend $50-60 real street price, not msrp. Some of the knives I have looked at can be readily purchased for 50-60% of MSRP almost anywhere on the net. I am not concerned with the brand name; I want quality and value (for cheap). So what knives do y'all feel are worth more than their price?

trickyvic
03-17-2010, 20:32
Benchmade Mini-Griptilian.

syntaxerrorsix
03-18-2010, 19:28
http://www.amazon.com/Spyderco-Endura-Folding-Plain-Knife/dp/B001CZDNVU

ElectricZombie
03-18-2010, 19:39
Spyderco Endura or Delica.

w4004p
03-19-2010, 09:17