How bulged is too bulged? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How bulged is too bulged?

B__
03-19-2010, 21:08
I bought some used brass online. Most is fine but some has the "bulge" pretty bad. A couple pieces I have tossed. Some have had a little tiny half circle of brass swaged off during resizing. I use an aftermarket barrel for my Glock, always have so I have no experience with the "bulge" and am just wondering about others' experience.

_The_Shadow
03-20-2010, 15:17
You have to set your mind to toss those that have a ridge, while you could size it down the brass is already compromised. You can't afford to have a case head seperation or blow out. When in doubt...toss it out!

B__
03-20-2010, 17:39
That's what I ended up doing. I am going over the stuff that was sized as well and tossing out anything that looks like it was swaged much. Better to toss it out that destroy my gun or worse. The brass will only see very light loads so hopefully I am just worrying for nothing.

JimBobTX
03-21-2010, 11:19
Have y'all tried the Lee Bulge Buster? You completely press your brass through the resizing die from the bottom up and it catches it in a container at the top. They advertise it in all the gun and reloading magazines. Here's a link at Midway USA http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=882261

It's Lee catalog #: 90487 and it's $20 at Lee and $15 at Midway USA, but I don't know if it comes with the catch container.

It works just like this bullet sizer http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi/catalog/browse.cgi?1269191659.205=/html/catalog/lubesize.html

But you press the brass through instead. I hope this helps...I'm ordering one tomorrow.

MakeMineA10mm
03-23-2010, 22:10
That will help iron out a reasonable bulge - especially if it's down just below where the sizing die reaches in a standard press.