browser running in background? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : browser running in background?


jolt8me
03-23-2010, 19:27
I was infected with the vista security tool virus. I ran malaware anti-malware and avast and it seemed to have gotten rid of the virus. The problem is now that every now and then i get an audio advertisement like my browser is running (but it appears not to be) and my router is showing traffic. I did task manager and dont see my browser running and i still get the audio advertisement even when i do have my browser running and its on a site with nothing.

Pierre!
03-24-2010, 01:03
So what is the audio advertisement about? Perhaps a clue you can track down...

My wife's Toshiba notebook has a screen saver that has a little guy walk across the screen talking... First couple of times I had to deal with it was in the middle of the night. Yah, flashlight and drawn gun for the "livingroom noise" she woke me about... HAHAHA.... Actually took a couple days to figure it out.

You may have something similar... or you could have been HiJacked.

Try running this app from Trend Micro - Not the Beta version:
http://free.antivirus.com/hijackthis/

Let us know how it turns out...

HKUSP45Css
03-24-2010, 17:58
Are you getting the "tick" "tick-tick" like you're surfing?