S&w 1006 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : S&w 1006

kenzo
03-24-2010, 17:32
I have a G20SF and love it. I'm new to the 10mm world and thinking about a Smith 1006. Anyone have one? How does it compare to the G20SF as far ad recoil?

usurp31
03-24-2010, 18:13
I have both (not the SF though) and both are fantastic and shoot very nicely; the 1006 is heavier and has less felt recoil overall but the 20 is a sweet shooter and very manageable as well.

kenzo
03-24-2010, 19:37
I have both (not the SF though) and both are fantastic and shoot very nicely; the 1006 is heavier and has less felt recoil overall but the 20 is a sweet shooter and very manageable as well.

Can you shoot 40 S&W out of a 1006 without modifications?

BruceO
03-24-2010, 22:09
You can NEVER shoot .40 S&W out of a 10mm autoloader barrel.

Angry Fist
03-24-2010, 22:13

I'm pretty sure you can. After all, it's a revolver...

RyeDaddy
03-24-2010, 22:59
I'm pretty sure you can. After all, it's a revolver...

Can't tell if this was sarcasm or not, the 1006 is not a revolver. If you're mistaken, you're thinking of the Model 610.

_The_Shadow
03-24-2010, 23:02
I shoot 40 S&W for my S&W1006 but it is because I have a Bar-Sto Match Grade conversion barrel chambered for the 40S&W I also have Bar-Sto Match Grade 9X25Dillon conversion this adds some extra value and flexibility to this platform.

The 40's are cheaper to shoot and saves my 10mm brass for more pressing power situations the 10 is known for! I love my S&W 10xx pistols and also the glock 29 which is now my carry piece.

Best regards!

Angry Fist
03-25-2010, 04:00
I'm just sayin', match the ammo to the gun, unless it's a revolver (.357 & .38, etc.). Try a conversion barrel. Sorry for sarcasm...

agtman
03-25-2010, 04:35

Ditto this ... I also have both.