Yeah for Me - I'm Running Ubuntu! [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Yeah for Me - I'm Running Ubuntu!

Matt VDW
03-30-2010, 14:45
I have a Pentium 4 PC running Windows XP that my kids have played with for a few years. There's so much garbage on the hard drive now that I thought I would just start over from scratch and make it a Linux machine. (I've never used Linux before, but I like what I've read about it.)

So I started off by downloading Puppy Linux and burning it to a CD-ROM to use as a boot disk, but my PC wouldn't boot from the CD. I went into the BIOS and made sure that booting from the CD drive was the first option -- still no luck.

I repeated the process with another small Linux distribution; same result. I think the problem is that I didn't burn the discs slowly enough so the files didn't copy properly.

Then I tried using the disc that came with a copy of "Linux Format" magazine I bought. Unfortunately, though, the disc is a DVD and the PC doesn't have a DVD drive.

So now, having given up for the moment on my original project, I'm running Ubuntu 9.10 from that disc on my "good" PC which does have a DVD drive. Even though I failed at my original goal, I'm at least using Linux on something so I don't feel like a complete idiot. :tongueout:

MavsX
03-30-2010, 16:56
lol. Good work...i think. I'm actually going to start a new thread pretty soon..i just gotta get all the info. first before i post it.

its about using kismet within ubuntu.

boozer
03-30-2010, 20:05
I like the price.

Now if I could figure out how to make "Myth TV" work I would feel like a genius.

area727
03-30-2010, 20:32
Nice job. Ive been running Ubuntu full time for about a year now. Never have looked back at windows.

IndyGunFreak
03-30-2010, 20:56