10mm auto, what am i doing wrong here? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 10mm auto, what am i doing wrong here?

mikecurnow
04-22-2010, 08:35
I made 50 hollow point rounds last night. New winchester brass, remington 180 grain hollow points.
LEE single stage press, with RCBS dies.
This is happening when inserting/crimping. most of the rounds looked fine but about 5 came out looking like this. The pics are of the worst one. I'm very new at this so any help would be great.

http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo293/shaharidan/Picture001.jpg

http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo293/shaharidan/Picture002.jpg
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

NW-Warlord
04-22-2010, 08:39
Is this the RCBS combo seat/crimp die? If so you have to back the die out a little further while seating the bullet, then take the die back down for the crimp. I have had this problem with RCBS rifle dies. I only use Dillon and Lee die sets now. Good luck.

SFCSMITH(RET)
04-22-2010, 08:40
Never loaded new brass,, but my guess is your case mouth isn't opened enough, but it's hard to tell from the picture, usually I get a torn lip kind of deal when that happens. I have seen some bullets come out with an outline of the projectile that was caused by the bullet being a thousandth or two large and the case wall thickness the same.. chambered and shot fine.. But it could also be a seating depth problem, those 5 cartridges were just a bit longer then the others.. did you mic them first? Again having never worked with new brass, I don't know if this can be a problem or not. Is the OAL length the same for all the loaded ammo? didn't short stroke it 45 times? (lol, doubtful, but hey S#$& happens)

mikecurnow
04-22-2010, 08:42
OK thanks. it seemed odd that it didn't happen with all the rounds.