Help With Cleaning My Glock 19 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Help With Cleaning My Glock 19

gqpolo
04-26-2010, 14:54
I'm a complete novice when it comes to guns and this may be a stupid question but here goes:
I field stripped the gun and the part on the slide where the casings come out on the inside on the rear sight side there is what was a silver circle with a pin coming out. Do I clean all of the silver pieces so that they are sliver again? Is this possible? Right now they're pretty much black.

aliasneo07
04-26-2010, 16:30
I'm not really sure what you're asking.

Heres how I clean my G19 though:

1. Field Strip
2. Clean the outside of the barrel with some hoppes powder solvent. Then run a few patches through the barrel with hoppes. If necessary, use a nylon or bronze bristle brush and run it through the barrel a few times. Make sure you go all the way to the other end of the barrel. Do NOT reverse directions inide the barrel when using a brush. After that, run clean patches through until they come out clean. And as a final step, I put one patch through with a LIGHT coat of oil. Wipe down the outside of the barrel. Don't forget to clean in the locking lug areas. When I'm done i spray a very light coat of oil on the outside and rub it in with my fingers.

3. Recoil Spring Assembly. I do nothing with this.

4. Slide: What I recommend is take a nylon brush or just a regular toothbrush, soak it in powder solvent, and scrub the inside of the slide. MAKE SURE when you brush around the area where the firing pin comes through (Firing pin channel. You'll see a little hole) that you hold the slide so that the hole is pointed toward the ground. You do not want debris going up into your firing pin channel. So...just scrub the inside of the slide with your brush. Then take a rag or whatever and wipe it clean. If you want, use some q-tips to get in the hard to reach areas. Just make sure you don't leave any q-tip particles behind.