KDE is missing [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : KDE is missing


GenX
05-02-2010, 20:35
Reinstalled 10.04 again and there is Failsafe GNOME, GNOME and xterm. Last time I installed, it was there, but not working properly. I checked the disc for errors twice and it came up with 14 errors the first time and 60 the second. Third time on a different machine, 0 errors.:dunno:

aircarver
05-02-2010, 20:39
kubuntu or ubuntu ?

GenX
05-02-2010, 20:46
Ubuntu. Not a big deal really, but now I'm wondering if the install is lacking other packages. Having some sound issues that I wasn't having with beta 2 upgraded from karmic.

IndyGunFreak
05-03-2010, 02:00
You probably installed a program, that required some KDE libraries, and it installed the KDE desktop libraries. Did you ever try to boot it? Usually if KDE is installed, you will have a TON of KDE apps in your Gnome menu. I'm guessing if you didn't specifically install the kubuntu-desktop, that menu really won't do anything. When you install Gnome, KDE does not install because the two require completely different libraries.

If you want to install it, you should be able to install it by sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop.

What's your sound device and what is it doing? For me.. I think Karmic > Lucid was one of the smoothest transitions I've ever had.

IGF

GenX
05-03-2010, 18:03
What's your sound device and what is it doing? For me.. I think Karmic > Lucid was one of the smoothest transitions I've ever had.

IGF
I just now booted the machine and under preferences on the volume icon it shows no hardware. Reboot and it shows up. Device is http://www.newegg.com/product/product.aspx?item=n82e16813131013

IndyGunFreak
05-03-2010, 18:22
I just now booted the machine and under preferences on the volume icon it shows no hardware. Reboot and it shows up. Device is http://www.newegg.com/product/product.aspx?item=n82e16813131013

Open a terminal and type "lspci" no quotes, and hit enter. (that's a lowercase L). Post the output.

IGF

GenX
05-03-2010, 18:24
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a3)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:05.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:05.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:05.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:06.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:08.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:09.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:0b.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
02:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB362/JMB363 Serial ATA Controller (rev 03)
02:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB362/JMB363 Serial ATA Controller (rev 03)
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GTS] (rev a1)


What do you think? should I run sudo update-pciids to update any unknowns?

IndyGunFreak
05-04-2010, 10:40
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a3)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:05.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:05.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:05.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:06.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:08.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:09.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:0b.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
02:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB362/JMB363 Serial ATA Controller (rev 03)
02:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB362/JMB363 Serial ATA Controller (rev 03)
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GTS] (rev a1)


What do you think? should I run sudo update-pciids to update any unknowns?

I know there were some problems w/ that device in 9.04, but they've long been resolved to my knowledge.

Not really sure what would be causing your problem. You can try the update, see if it does anything.

GenX
05-04-2010, 12:07
I know there were some problems w/ that device in 9.04, but they've long been resolved to my knowledge.

Not really sure what would be causing your problem. You can try the update, see if it does anything.

Well, I installed kde last night, and the intermittent sound problem seems to have gone away.

This isn't the case. Reinstalled and moving forward

Toyman
05-05-2010, 05:49
If you would have installed Windows you wouldn't have that problem. :tongueout: Sorry, someone had to say it. I learned it from the "install linux and you'll never had a problem" crowd. :rofl:

GenX
05-05-2010, 06:23
If you would have installed Windows you wouldn't have that problem. :tongueout: Sorry, someone had to say it. I learned it from the "install linux and you'll never had a problem" crowd. :rofl:

All of my current problems are self induced. Tinkering with an OS is enjoyable to me and no doubt, linux has a learning curve and isn't for most people. The masses prefer not to dICK around with learning a new platform. Blackberry's aren't for everyone either. I like bricking them, then bringing them back to life:yawn:

IndyGunFreak
05-05-2010, 07:24
I learned it from the "install linux and you'll never had a problem" crowd. :rofl:

I've said many times, anyone who says that is an idiot. Computers will be problematic, no matter what OS you have on them. That said, I can truthfully say I have no problems out of mine.

IGF