Do you keep a tally on reloaded brass? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Do you keep a tally on reloaded brass?


KiloBravo
05-02-2010, 20:42
Do you all keep track of how many times you have reloaded your brass? Or do you just use it a set number of times and then discard it? Or do you use it until there is a visable defect like a crack of bent up beyond repair?

Hawker Man
05-02-2010, 20:44
I'm new to reloading, but I plan to shoot it until it gives up. I load light for punching paper only.
Tom

Randy from Kansas
05-02-2010, 20:53
I do keep accurate records of what I reload but not of the number of times each piece is reloaded. I did keep track of it back in the 80s but it lasted so long I gave up. My brass for my revolvers lasts for many years but my auto brass I lose enough that I am buying new every couple of years.

robin303
05-02-2010, 20:59
I use it untill it splits. Two so far in 9 and a couple Glock 40 S&W bulges but they seem to last a great deal of many reloads.

Colorado4Wheel
05-02-2010, 21:00
No. Not worth it. How in the world am I going to keep track of a 5 gallon bucket of 9mm brass. Shoot it, loose it don't worry about it. The simple answer for those that NEED to keep track of these things is simply to mark your brass and toss the entire batch every year or some other schedule.

DWARREN123
05-02-2010, 21:17
I reload 40 S&W and have been reloading a few years now for that and other calibers. What I do is inspect the brass after each cleaning and before doing anything else. If I have any question about it at all I recycle it. Not worth it to hurt myself.

VN350X10
05-02-2010, 21:39
I've posted this several times before...
Years ago, Guns & Ammo magazine tried to run a test on how many times .38 spl. could be reloaded. Started w/100 rds of new virgin brass.
After 20 reloads they decided to drop the size of the test sample to expidite matters;(now, 50 rds) After another 20 loadings, they dropped the test sample to 10 cases.
Final result, 1st case split was around 97 loadings, the last one split between 110 -115.

I personally get a minimum of 20 loadings from my .44 Mag brass (Win.) & I don't load mag to paper punching level ! If I want a .44 Spl. I use Spl. brass !
I used to shoot metallic shilouette & still load to the same nuclear level. (the old loads were accurate....that hasen't changed)
On my 9mm, .40S&W, 10MM & .45ACP ammo, I lose it before it wears out;I've got several .45 cases that the headstamp is almost unreadable, but still functions fine. My oldest known headstamp is a 1942 !(.45ACP)
Basicly, look for splits while loading/polishing, but shoot it until you crack it or lose it.
This DOES NOT apply to personal defensse ammo, for that, once fired brass is prefered.
If there's a defect, the factory firing will show it. I use known once-fired for important level matches also.

uncle albert
(ps...no comments needed on personal defense & reloads, that is my PERSONAL choice!)

u.a.

Zombie Steve
05-02-2010, 22:17
.45acp - nope.
9mm - nope.
.45 Colt cowboy loads - nope.
.45 Colt "Ruger only" semi-nuclear loads - yep.
.357 mag - yep.
.44 mag - yep.
Rifle rounds - yep.

Sofa King
05-02-2010, 22:24
I don't keep track of mine either. If it looks good it's getting used, if not it gets pitched. I pick up range brass all the time so even if I did keep track it wouldn't be accurate anyway.

dbarry
05-03-2010, 00:20
I use to keep track, but as others have stated, you can shoot the stuff it seems forever. I probably only get a dozen or so reloads w/ my hot 357 loads, but everything else last a long time...

IndyGunFreak
05-03-2010, 02:28
i'm new to reloading, but i plan to shoot it until it gives up. I load light for punching paper only.
Tom

+1... although I do inspect my 40 brass a bit more than the others.

380Seecamp
05-03-2010, 03:55
I've had some new Starline brass split after one firing* (.32 H&R Mag) and had some .357 Mag brass from another manufacturer loaded hot seven times without a failure. I do keep track of number of loadings for the brass I don't have to pick up off the range floor, but not the stuff for semi-autos.

Like others, I tend to shoot it until it splits.

* No jab at Starline; I've used lots of their brass, and this caliber (.32 H&R) is the only one that gave me trouble. Must have been a bad lot.

srd
05-03-2010, 05:21
I also use it until it splits. Clean..inspect and reload. I normally loose it for the semi autos long before its life expectancy is used up.

Brucev
05-03-2010, 07:08
Do you all keep track of how many times you have reloaded your brass? Or do you just use it a set number of times and then discard it? Or do you use it until there is a visable defect like a crack of bent up beyond repair?

I routinely track both my rifle and pistol brass. I load rifle ammo in 100 rd. batches for practice and match use. I load pistol ammo in 1,000 rd. batches. In each instance, when the batch of ammo is expended, I process the brass at the same time. When I note significant issues with a batch of brass, the lot is scrapped. Generally I don't shoot heavy loads so both rifle and pistol brass last a long time. YMMV. Sincerely. Brucev.

Glock2008
05-03-2010, 07:12
Used to but after awhile I had to many containers going and decided it wasn't worth it. I just sort out the brass that has issues now.

MrVvrroomm
05-03-2010, 07:44
For pistol brass, shoot/reload until it spilits.

Hoser
05-03-2010, 07:56
Rifle yes.

Pistol, no way.

BK63
05-03-2010, 18:21
Same as the others. Shoot until it splits. I have noticed that nickel in revolver casings splits sooner. I have loaded some 45 acp a LOT. 40 - 50 times maybe? I probably lose them before they go bad.

KiloBravo
05-03-2010, 18:53
This is all very encouraging to hear. Thanks to all for the responses thus far! :wavey:

Colorado4Wheel
05-03-2010, 19:49
I would only keep track of loading on Rifle and any really high power pistol stuff. Stuff that I am loading +P.

El_Ron1
05-03-2010, 22:11
.40 yes. Got a couple older Glocks that work it a bit.

AA#5
05-03-2010, 22:17
No, but I do inspect each case before loading it again. Takes 2-3 seconds/case.

frankmako
05-03-2010, 22:44
don't keep track.

FLSlim
05-04-2010, 09:17
Put me in the column of check case carefully, and if it looks good, load it up.

johnjohn
05-04-2010, 17:41
I keep track of it "just because". But any way just load it till it splits.

jdavionic
05-04-2010, 17:43
I just inspect each round for cracks. It's impossible for me to keep up with my specific pieces of brass, given that I shoot matches.

mnhogrider
05-04-2010, 18:28
I had this .380 CBC brass split after 7 reloads BUT I bought the brass as "once fired" .

http://i630.photobucket.com/albums/uu26/sdebaunn/IMG_0190-1.jpg

http://i630.photobucket.com/albums/uu26/sdebaunn/IMG_0196.jpg

http://i630.photobucket.com/albums/uu26/sdebaunn/IMG_0202.jpg

So, who knows how many times it's really been reloaded?

No harm done. I caught it doing my case inspection after cleaning.

GioaJack
05-04-2010, 18:36
I only get to load my cases one time. My grandson picks 'em up, sells 'em and buys sugary snacks on the black market. I think he takes his heritage a little too seriously.

Jack

KiloBravo
05-04-2010, 19:26
I only get to load my cases one time. My grandson picks 'em up, sells 'em and buys sugary snacks on the black market. I think he takes his heritage a little too seriously.

Jack

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

I am seriously laughing my arse off right now. You also might owe me for a new keyboard! LMAO

SNH Glocks
05-07-2010, 21:19
Nope, I use it until it fails, usually by splitting, or I lose it at the range.